Old Adages and Old Wives Tales are True!

 

"Scripture...sets before us Christ alone ...

Image via Wikipedia

 

Sometimes I don’t think its easy even being alive or we don’t let it be. The longer I live and breathe the more I realize that humanity has in common, not different. Why must we all struggle and fight against each other when it would be so much easier to just be kind to each other? I have always thought this way, since I was young, I believe most people do. We allow ourselves eventually to follow our baser selves and group mentality to be mean and it is a shame. Why don’t we all take a deep cleansing breath, calm down and “DO the Right thing?”
Don’t get me wrong, I am no saint, I do the Wrong thing, unfortunately more than I wish, but believe me, I am trying to DO the Right thing all the time. If we could all TRY to Do the right thing it might make the planet a better place, don’t cha’ think??!!
I’m talking about little things like holding doors for people, which is such a little thing but it shows RESPECT and people will flourish under simple niceties like these. How about letting people OUT of elevators first, by holding your arm in front of the doors for them as they exit, it’s such a genteel gesture of caring. How about saying Please and Thank You, not answering your phone when you’re holding a live conversation, actually listening to people talk, not just talking just for a few. Wouldn’t that be nice! Believe it or not, it will make you as the doer feel good, too. When you put a smile on someone elses face, it puts a smile on your face, and so on and on…
I thought I had a lot of problems being blond, and the baby of my family and that was the premise of my first book, but when I looked, really looked, everyone has their cross to bear.
It’s HOW we bear it that matters! We have to find the angle with the least pressure on our vital organs and BEAR a SMILE at the same time! You can’t let anything really get you down or it wins!  Move the crap over and keep on going.
Sometimes I wonder why the old adages aren’t given more attention, after all they came from somewhere and I believe they are “The Directions On How To Survive!” If they are still being repeated this many years later there must be some wisdom in them, yes? I think so. So, from my lips to your ears, if and when you hear old wives tales and adages, heed them, there is much wisdom there, remember that.
So perhaps we can try to put ourselves in other people shoes, remember everyone has a burden, not just us, and move on. Smile, life is good, it could be much worse.
If we want to change this world we must start small and with ourselves. Everyday try to do better with improving something of yourself.  It’s never TOO late to improve yourself, no matter how small and it will make you feel better and better. Keep repeating it and eventually it will stick. I believe they say with 14-30 days of repetition of a task it becomes a habit! Try to stick with it and always be gentle with yourself, if you’re not, who will be?
Try to enjoy beauty around you, it’s free and it’s amazing. That’s where the adage, stop and smell the roses comes from. Isn’t it crazy if you spend money on your landscaping and never stop for a minute to enjoy it? Who are you doing it for, if not yourself, too?
Nature, enjoy it when and where you find it. Take a minute…when you see a falling star, a sunset, a beautiful bougainvillea bush in a field, stop and enjoy. Life really IS too short, or maybe there just aren’t that many wonderful moments…so stop when you see them, why not enjoy the beauty? Don’t say later, really, what will it take 5, 10, 15 minutes and in the grand scheme of things SO WHAT! Whatever you were rushing off to will still be there, but at least you saw the beauty, appreciated it and just were ONE with the Universe for a couple of minutes…you’ll be healthier, wealthier, and wiser for those few moments spent just BEING!
About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in esoteric, funny, interesting, new, psychic, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

