College Expenses . . .Aren’t They Crazy?

I know my husband and I have been very lucky and blessed with our two boys having been given scholarships for tuition to ASU because they were such good students. (Arizona State University). The funny thing is that college still has a funny way of nickel and dimeing you to death. There are the dorm fees, which don’t come cheap.  My oldest had the honor of living in The Walter Cronkite School of Journalism’s Dorms that were pitiful. His dorm room was like a jail cell and it cost $645.00/month. Oh, my! Then the books every semester are at least $200.00. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not crying poverty, just sharing information. I find it interesting and a little insulting and disappointing that this is the price of education in America today. Then there are the food plans that I think cost about $900./yr.

Now enter my youngest son. He decided to attend ASU as an Engineering student. I know there were many pivotal factors in his decision to pick ASU over Purdue. Believe me I was torn, too. It is probably one of the hardest decisions people make in their lives; do they ever know if they made the correct one? Purdue sounds so much more prestigious and should be for $48,000/yr. + expenses. My son probably partly made the decision because of the money factor even though we told him many times not to worry about that, he’s just that kind of sensitive kid. Also, he had taken many college classes in HS that he would have lost credit for, I don’t believe they would have been transferable to Purdue, but were to ASU. The Engineering Program at ASU is supposed to be very good, I forget where it’s measured countrywide, somewhere like 45th, which according to HR people and other people hiring, is very good in the world of Engineering, well respected.

As it were, he also got a wonderful jail cell just like his older brother. His is $645/mo., too. His first semester of books were $785.00. I don’t know how much his food plan works out to be, but we pay for that too, so it’s no walk in the park. I feel sorry for people who have to pay for the whole thing. Next year when my oldest graduates, his scholarship will be over and guess what? He wants to go on to Law School. Great!! Congrats for us. I wonder how much that is going to cost? Ha, Ha! Only time will tell. But I’ll finally have a lawyer in the family, and maybe he’ll get another scholarship, one can hope…

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Books, Business, family, interesting, new, Parenting, Tuition, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to College Expenses . . .Aren’t They Crazy?

  1. Danee Garone says:

    Can’t stop the funk.

Leave a Reply

