Social Media and the lack of….

Facebook logo

Image via Wikipedia

I was amazed how much hubbub I have heard surrounding both College Professors  for their audacity to try to take any means of communication from THE children….sob, sob. Oh, please.

If it wasn’t for all the media coverage and the helicopter parents interference I don’t think the kids would have had a problem. Also, whatever happened to a teacher giving an assignment and others butting out unless it was “dangerous” to someone.

First of all, aren’t most college student old enough to make their own decisions? I know I can not get my sons grades, they are locked under the Privacy Act, so why aren’t these same adult (children), who don’t have to show their grades able to stand up for themselves? (Being confused if they are adults or children I will now refer to them as AC) The way I’ve heard it is that the parents called and visited the Dean to complain about their AC not having phones for a week. It was a project assigned to see how they could live without cell phones. It seems that the students weren’t the ones complaining it was the helicopter parent. You know them, the overbearing overprotective liberal children of the 50′s , 60′s and 70′s who now think they must be involved in every facet of their growing maturing AC student’s life.

My God, it hasn’t been that long since we didn’t all have cell phones, I think the AC will live with out them. I know I wasn’t allowed to “talk” (complain) to my sons teachers since about third grade. They could and would take care of themselves or be embarrassed if I so much as said anything to the teacher except “Hi.” Imagine your parents going and “talking” to your teacher or Dean about an assignment as if you were in grade school again. As if this isn’t bad enough, cut to the other case.

I believe there is a teacher who asked all the students to stay off Facebook, not even the whole internet. This has been on the news and has people up in arms. Aren’t there more important things that should make the news than a few AC’s being asked by a thought provoking teacher to try to cut down on Facebook for a little while. I personally think way too many people are addicted to FB, twitter and many more Social networking sites. This teacher thought it would give the students a glimpse into a different type of world, maybe broaden their horizons for a little while. I don’t think it would hurt anyone to be unplugged and remember how it was to be in touch with LIVE people doing things OUTSIDE, instead of connected to our computers.

Must parents and others get involved if  an assignment for grown students is not hurting anyone? I would have been mortified if my parents showed up on my campus to talk to someone for me, that was why I was in college, to learn about the world and grow up. I can’t even imagine if I had somehow gotten involved in my sons college career! They are 18 & 21 and can take care of themselves. Interesting FREE world we live in. . .

What do you think?

Written by Evelyn Garone 9/27/10

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in family, funny, new, politics, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Social Media and the lack of….

  1. agnusnutter says:

    Hi Evie,
    I agree with you about it not being the end of the world when a professor asks the class to go without facebook for a week. I also can see how for someone who is completely addicted to facebook, quitting facebook for even 2 or 3 days would seriously make them have withdrawal symptoms! I was pretty addicted to facebook until I just went cold turkey and quit it! I think the fault is not with facebook users or even facebook creators because they don’t have a bad intention. I think that it is the “fad” or “this is hip” aspect of needing to have a facebook persona that really screws with people and since there are no limitations, it is easy to become obsessed with facebook. Read more of my thoughts on facebook on my blog, i just made my first post :) http://agnusnutter.wordpress.com/2010/09/27/quittingfacebook/

    Cheers.

    • Evie Garone says:

      Thanks for reading…I’m glad someone understands…I have written a few blogs about it too, check out Dissin’ Facebook I’ll check out your blog…keep visiting… Evie

  2. Posky says:

    I could see how it would be annoying to go without social networking for a while but, if you’re a student, it’s not going to ruin your life to spend seven days without it. You could even use one of those days to inform everyone that you’ll be off the grid for a while.

    Good article, I’ll be back for more.

Leave a Reply

