Perfect Weather, What Is It?

 

Saguaro3

Image via Wikipedia

 

The weather has turned in Arizona and it is now fabulous. The air is so fresh you can breathe and smell fresh mown grass with a hint of hay. It is so lovely. The temperature has leveled off from an unGodly oven-like temperature of 3 digits in the 110 -116 area to 75-90 area.

I have opened the windows, turned off the ever present air-conditioning and am reveling in enjoying the great outdoors. This is what living in Arizona is all about! That is the new refrain you will hear from all the “new” natives. People who “hated” Arizona, the Phoenix, Scottsdale area all sweaty, thirsty, mind-numbing heat drenching summer now unfurl themselves and become singers of the beauty of the same said area. I can understand. Believe me. I have lived through 5 summers.

When I first got here, call me innocent and naive. I thought the heat of the summer was lovely. I enjoyed it in all it fiery finery. I actually had the audacity to be a sun worshiper. At the time my sons were still young enough to be playing sports and my husband and I would show up all ready to sit for hours and hours in the blazing sun, baking our skin to a crunchy tan, happy as little clams as other disillusioned seasoned veterans of the unrelenting heat watched in awe, as they panted in what little shade there was or they could make. They would shake their heads at our naivety and take bets on how long it would take before we were acclimatized and could no longer take the heat.

Unfortunately, they were right. It has taken a good 5 years but I no longer think the heat is bearable and fun. This summer I hid in my house. I hated the heat. I found the summer as bad as the winter in the North East. When I lived in NJ I used to pretty much hibernate during the winter, so now it’s the heat of the summer I will have to avoid.

I guess it’s not perfect anywhere. Unless you want to talk about either Kauai, Hawai’i or a Caribbean Island where it is about 75 – 85 F degrees all year long. I am undertaking some serious consideration about looking into a second house in one of the two locations right now. My dream house would be a house right on the beach, open the back door sliders walk a few feet, and there is the sweet sweet ocean…that is my dream. I want to bask in the sun, run on the beach, well maybe walk…shell in the early mornings, sit in a chair and just chill.  So I am starting my homework and looking at real estate. Anyone with any serious information would be welcome to send it on.

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in family, funny, new, Travel, Uncategorized, Vacation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Perfect Weather, What Is It?

  1. vibaku says:

    This is the first time I’m visiting your blog.

Leave a Reply

