Real VS. Fake

A christmas tree.

Image via Wikipedia

Trees that is. As in Christmas trees. I wonder what you were thinking, get your mind out of the gutter! We usually have a real fir tree for Christmas, which is fabulous, but I finally broke down and got a fake tree this year. I decided I’ve had enough of the muss and fuss.

Last year my son and I searched and searched but the price and the look just didn’t satisfy our particularly artistic eye so we broke down and insisted again on a beautiful Douglas fir. It smells heavenly, but what a trial. The watering, the mess of the bristles falling off and the vacuuming for 5 months to get those pesky things out of the carpet is it all worth it?. Been there done that!

So this year, when I walked into Hobby Lobby and saw some very nice trees at half off, I dragged my husband right back with the big car and before I could over-think the decision I bought a really nice 9 1/2 ft. pre-lit tree with 1,300 lights. Nirvana. I don’t even have to go ’round and ’round with the lights trying to get them just right!

So today is the big day. My 2 sons are coming over for the Holiday, home from college, we can put up the tree, leave it up as long as we want, I can mess around with decorating for as long as my little heart desires! Yay! That’s another tick in the plus column. Here in Arizona, the real trees tend to dry up and die very quickly and since I’m always tempted to buy them too soon they are almost dry and scraggly by Christmas Day! Booo! So now I can leave it up way after little Christmas, which is January 6th, when the Wise men supposedly got to baby Jesus.

It’s a win/win, so Mommy is happy, thus everyone will be happy! The Holiday will be beautiful.  I like a pretty, pretty house with a big shiny well decorated tree.

(c) Written by Evelyn Garone 11/2010

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in angel, family, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

