My Blog and My Freedom to Say What I Will…

Image representing LinkedIn as depicted in Cru...

YUCK!! Image via CrunchBase

Today I ran into some matters, doctor related and personal that torqued me up that I feel I want to blog about, but I don’t know if my husband would approve of all and sundry who read my blog to know or hear about them…

I don’t know if my male readership will want to read about women and their medical problems…I don’t know if I should share so personal a side of my heart, soul, and health problems…

Then again, I don’t really like to be stifled. It so happens that by accident, call it my computer ignorance, stupidity, naivete whatever but by a twist of fate I joined LINKED IN and was then Linked In to all my husbands business associates. Whoops! Big mistake. Whenever I posted a new Blog it let them all know about it. I’m sure they just deleted it or read it and hated it or liked it like anyone else, but he was not amused. Neither was I. I was very embarrassed, and rectified the situation ASAP! I deleted myself from LINKED IN immediately having only joined at the behest of an old friend and an old business acquaintance. I never knew we would overlap and my business, my blog, etc. would bleed into his life.

Now, the conundrum remains. Do I post my personal womanly medical information for all to see or do I now start another blog anonymously and then post?

I post as an outlet to work out my problems, in my head and as I read the written word. I reread my blog, fine tune it, keep rereading it even after having published it and still keep fine tuning it.

Sometimes the problems I have are common to other people so sharing them, discussing them helps more than myself. Sometimes people who read give me good advice, sometimes I just want to rant!

But it is MY BLOG! Do I, shall I have to watch what I say when I will only be speaking the truth? I am writing nothing hurtful, nothing nasty, just a discussion on doctors, medical problems, jargon, etc. I just don’t know what to do.

Men may get squeamish, or even blush, my husband and sons might feel uncomfortable, but they don’t even read this blog, and no more do the co-workers know about it…

Does anyone have any suggestions?  Any feedback please feel free to share. . .

(c) Written by Evelyn Garone 11/2010

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Blogging, family, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My Blog and My Freedom to Say What I Will…

  1. Pingback: My Blog and My Freedom to Say What I Will… at Aloha

  2. Mental Climax says:

    i am a man, and i think i would not be offended if you tell us, your readers, your situation.

    it is so nice to share what you feel. it releases you. your blog serves as the outlet of your soul.

    doing it anonymously is a choice. but then again, it is just like anonymously showing your anonymous self to anonymous people.

    i admire you for thinking about this.

    may you be well.

    have a nice day.

    • Evie Garone says:

      I had let the situation slide for a few days to see if I got any replies, or any inspiration from the powers that be and now I think I am ready to go forward…please follow along if you’d like it shall follow. Thanks for caring! Evie

  3. bertbad says:

    You blog for you and no one else. You will find an audience of loyal readers. Don’t hide yourself from us. Let us know the whole you!

    • Evie Garone says:

      I have left this post up for a few days to ruminate over the topic..I also really had nothing to say! As of today I have been motivated to write about a few things and will now, stay tuned! Thanks for your kind words! I do so hope I DO get an audience of loyal readers, I do have a few…maybe I can count you and now Mental Climax as new ones! Take care & I will read your blog now, too. Cheers, Evie

      • Mental Climax says:

        Of course, you can do that. I, for one, believe in you. I’ll be waiting for the next stories you have to tell. I know there’s a lot to tell and I am here to listen.

  4. Posky says:

    I’ve got two sisters so you can go nuts.

  5. laynechin says:

    So, never subscribe or link the people who may be your acquaintance in real life.

Leave a Reply

