Parents Vs. Bureaucracy

Unbelievable! I think I’ve heard it all. One of the hot button topics in the news today is this, a school district in Chicago who has decided that they are not allowing students, except for special cases, ie. allergies and special medical conditions, to bring in brown bag lunches.

Have they heard America is a “free” country? Yes, these are public schools that have made this decision. I, and I’m sure others too, might agree if they had “some” rules such as no soda, no candy, but not lunches across the board.

So, personally, my mother made my lunch for me and my brother and sister every day. I also made lunch for my children everyday, except for pizza day, Friday, that was a special day for my kids.

I was a very picky eater and NEVER would have eaten the slop they served at school. My kids didn’t even have a cafeteria at their school. We were all given healthy lunches, with real fruit, sandwiches, milk, fruit juice, yogurt and sometimes a treat. We picked what we gave to our children. Not the government. Thank you, I can handle it from here, Uncle Sam.

I see no reason that the schools/gov’t. should decide what children eat for lunch. Is it about the money? Do the schools want the funding they get for a certain amount of lunches served? What a shame. . .no, what a disgrace! I think they are stomping all over people’s rights. This is not a Nanny State Gov’t. and we do not want it to be. We want smaller gov’t., not bigger, not involved in every facet of our lives, so BACK OFF from our kids lunches and lives we can handle it!

(C) Written by Evelyn Garone 4/2011

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Adult Humor, Blogging, Business, interesting, Obama, Parenting, politics, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Parents Vs. Bureaucracy

  1. business says:

    School lunches usually give children at least two choices and they are well balanced. School lunches also save parents time since they dont have to keep portable food items on hand for packing.Usually the school lunch attendants are on their toes. They make sure each student receives an entre so they dont fill their tray with sweets.Additionally some schools monitor the childrens lunches as well.

    • Evie Garone says:

      My problem is it SHOULDN’T BE FORCED ON parents!! I wonder how many schools lunches are really balanced as you say…if this is so kudos to them…but it is still a FREE country. Evie

Leave a Reply

