American Idol Results

Haley broke the girls losing streak and I have to say as a female I’m a little happy about that.  Hmmmm, just thinkin’ were they right? Yeah, probably. Paul really is a one trick pony. I know the judges liked him, but it is about America’s vote. I really couldn’t get over his kind of spastic movements on the stage, it wasn’t endearing to me. I didn’t love his singing either, it was quirky and only acceptable for about the first 2-3 times, after that it was just annoying, I was so over him.

I think the judges need to step up at this point in the competition and try to give a little more constructive criticism, really, the kids are good, but they aren’t all great all the time and someone has to win. They did judge Haley harshly and rightly so as her version of Blondie’s “Call Me” was not great, it really was not up to par of the level of excellence in the competition.

I was happy that she will get another chance to vindicate herself as her duet with Casey was wonderful and really showed off her talents. If only she would or could make song choices like that weekly she wouldn’t remain in the bottom three.

But where were Will.i.am and Jimmy Iovine helping with song choice for Haley? Who & what were they thinking with the choice of “Call Me” by Blondie? There was no note variation for Haley to showcase her voice…  They showed us them butting heads with James,  Casey, Scotty and Jacob and they all decided to stick by their guns and go with the song that made them happy. But we never saw them suggesting a better choice for Haley, so what’s up with that?

I think everyone sticking with their own choice did better, Jacob did well with their choice, but Scotty should have stayed with his first choice, “Everybody’s Talkin’ “. He did alright with his choice, I just think the well known song “Everybody’s Talkin’ ” would have blown everybody away, all audiences, all music types, not only his target audience of “Country”.

Lauren Alaina sang Miley Cyrus’ s “The Climb” and did a very good job. She has a big voice. I personally have never been impressed with Miley Cyrus, I think she’s been a little Disney girl who sang for little girl wannabes and acted on her Hannah Montana children’s comedy with acceptable talent, nothing outrageous, more lucky with having a Superstar Dad. So when the judges told her she did it better than the original, I had to agree. Miley/Hannah is a Disney franchise not a voice, Lauren Alaina sings. So good for her, she is the other part of the “Country Kids” I speak of. The judges love her.

I know the judges were a little surprised by Stefano’s appearance in the bottom three, but I think his song choice and higher voice has him more geared to the teeney boppers than all around audience like the “Country Kids”. I was interested in Stefano and his hard-luck story of his bad accident in the beginning, but he’s lost me with his Boyz 11 Men type of voice — just not my cup of tea.

Oh, I have to mention James heavy metal rendition of “Heavy Metal”. I HATE metal, but I have to say this kid is soooo talented. I didn’t even mind his rendition of this song. Everything he does is good. When he sings with the others “boys” in the band and sings gently he has a beautiful voice and you can hear and appreciate it. He is a force to be reckoned with and his background story is wonderful. He has grown on me and he is definitely not a one trick pony, this boy can SANG!

So, we’ll see what happens next week. The contest is HEATING UP!

(C) Written by Evelyn Garone 4/2011

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in American Idol, Music, new, TV, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

