No One Told Me There’d Be Days Like These . . .

To start this “Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day” was that I was up ’til 4:00 am not able to sleep, tossing and turning with pain, knowing all along that I was going to have to be up at 7:30 am for physical therapy for my very sore post-op shoulder.

As if that wasn’t bad enough, I didn’t wake up until the phone woke me with 10 minutes to get ready. Okay, no problem, I really don’t worry about being the most pretty crayon in the box to go to PT, just drag a brush through my hair, throw some clothes on, take a pain pill and I’m ready. Not even any time for coffee, it’s not a pretty picture as you can imagine.

As I run out to meet my girlfriend, my trusty chauffeur she’s crying. “What?” I ask. She tells me she is afraid her husband might have cancer, as she so kindly drives me (I still can’t drive because of my injured shoulder) to my appointment she tells me she has to run to an unexpected doctor appointment with her husband because he has a lump on his neck and a very painful ulcerated sore on his tongue and the back of this throat that is making it hard to swallow. WTF?? OMG, I can’t believe it . . . she still worried about taking me . . . how ridiculous, or how wonderful because she’s a thoughtful person!

Please God, these are two of my dearest friends, please let this not be the big “C”!!! I do so hope this is not one of those faith “tests”. My girlfriend recently lost her mother, I do not think she needs this now, or ever for that matter, who does? It has been an interesting time in my life, watching a bunch of illnesses unfold all around me, including myself in the last few years.

Yes, I know what doesn’t kill us makes us stronger, and the deaths around us make the rest of us tougher after we come out the other side of grief, but really, is it necessary in such a high number in such a finite space of time, God?

If praying helps, I’m on my knees in supplication God, please help my friend through this. She has much faith, she is a fan of Joel Osteen, so I hope that will give her strength through this trying situation. I will be there for her in every way I can, spiritually, emotionally,whatever, like she was there for me with my brush with the insidious big “C”. I hope it’s enough.

Hopefully, we are jumping to the worst conclusion and it is really nothing much, but I guess it is better to be ready for the worst and     (TICK TOCK …Waiting is HARD!)    then when we get good news, we’ll be relieved, right?

I am now waiting on pins and needles, with bated breath for the phone to ring. She is supposed to call me as soon as she knows something. Man, the waiting is hard . . .just imagine them waiting for the doctor to see them, as I know the doctor they are waiting for and his waiting room definitely leaves something to be desired concerning being seen in a timely manner. Also, then waiting for test results. God, or whatever powers that be, please watch over them and protect them!~

Written by Evelyn Garone 4/21/11

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in death, Faith, family, health, illness, Medical, Men, new, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

