Physical Therapy Ups & Downs . . .

The physical therapy for my shoulder remplissage and torn or actually non-existent labrum has been a slow and painful process. It has been moving along and I am finally able to drive after 3-4 months of being housebound except for the physical therapy and doctor visits themselves.

The therapists started off with passive resistant exercises which included them doing all the work for me and there was little movement in my arm. It was quite daunting to see the weakness in myself after having been a very able person before. I knew it would get better, but still, to not be able to do all the mundane things you take for granted is frustrating to say the least.

I have been improving, but there are plateaus you hit where the pain and uselessness come rushing back and you wonder if you ever will get full usage back . . . it’s strange and a little scary.

There is much pain in my back and neck from knots of stress and tension from overcompensating for the shoulder, it makes it hard to sleep, even though  I can finally recline on a bed laden with pillows! That is a big accomplishment because for about 3 months I had to sleep sitting up. I’m telling you, aging is not for the weak-minded!  Ha!

But every day is a new day, and every day gets better! I am now riding the exercise bike at the gym/PT facility. I am exercising my arm myself.  I am looking forward to being well enough to attend T’ai Chi when I am all better, then yoga! Aim HIGH!!!

Written by Evelyn Garone 5/2011

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Doctors, health, Humor, illness, interesting, Medical, new, Physical Therapy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Physical Therapy Ups & Downs . . .

  1. Pingback: When Physical Therapy becomes Magical | Madeline Scribes

Leave a Reply

