I’ve Lost That Loving Feeling . . . (Idol Results Tonight – The Big Finale)

Ya’ know, I’ve tried to hang tough through the elimination of all the interesting contestants on Idol that I liked (James, Haley, etc.) and this seems to happen a lot year after year, but after watching last night, I find I just DON’T CARE who wins . . . ho hum, BORING!

The “Country Kids” have talent, yes I’ll give them that, but do I see myself interested in THEIR music, NO!? It shows, though that voting blocks work. It seems Middle America loves country music as a whole, thus the two teenagers in the Finale! I wish them both luck, they’ll probably do well, look at Carrie Underwood, for example, she’s making millions . . .but it’s not my type of music.

Scotty has the little girls voting for him and the South, with him being from North Carolina, we saw the turn-out for him at his hometown. But so does Lauren, she’s from Georgia and everybody was lining the streets, screaming for her.

I have to say I have a little more respect for Lauren when she tried to play down her hurt vocal cords, but in the usual intrusive IDOL way they brought out her doctor to tell us about it . . .did we need to know that? If I was Lauren I would have been so embarrassed, besides “the show must go on” when you are a professional, so I’m not giving her any extra kudos for singing, but you don’t know how that information will warp the voting public’s sympathy . . .

So, as Scotty stood there at the end hearing from the judges that Lauren had won, how do we think he felt? Does it matter what the judges think? America votes . . .I never can decide if the judges’ opinion helps or hurts the contestants, sometimes I think the opposite may happen from what they say just because they motivate the voting public to vote harder for their choice.

How weird was it for Steven Tyler to say that Lauren won because she’s prettier? Also, again Jimmy Iovine’s heavy hand was seen in the behind the scenes machinations, for wasn’t Lauren’s final song about “Moms” a much bigger natural “winner” than Scotty’s song? Lauren also won in her choice of Idols to help her, that song of her’s again was much better.

I really do not care who wins, it can go either way, but I guess if I had to give it to either singer for last night’s singing, it would be Lauren. ┬áLet’s see what America says tonight!

(C) Written by Evelyn Garone 5/2011

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in American Idol, funny, Humor, interesting, new, TV, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

