So I Must Live A Charmed Life . . .

Yesterday I flew into New Jersey, my home state from Phoenix, Arizona and the security lines were so long. My son and I were in the slowest line ever, the woman who was working our line must have been on duty all night and was just killing time before her shift ended and you could tell. She was using any excuse to leave her officious document-checking line thus the line had backed-up to the Star Bucks back at the ticket agent booth where they had forgotten to put our luggage collection ticket on the back of our flight ticket. Yeah, it was that kind of morning. We were early, everything had gone our way, but the people in the Airport were NOT on their A-Game and were not in a chipper mood at 4:30 am like we were. Go figure?! I actually was doing well even though I am not a morning person. Maybe because I was looking forward to seeing my girlfriend in NJ and they were working. . . could be, but hey it’s not MY fault.

Anyway, as the lady who was our Document Checker decided to do ANYTHING but check documents for our line, and we stood there getting antsy, the other two lines to the sides of us moved at the speed of light, people kept passing by…. but not US. People who we knew had been way behind us now waved from their planes as they flew away yet my son still told me to “hang tough, stay the course”, and stay in our pokey line. Huh? There is a time to cut and run . . . a time to face reality . . .no?! But, he is a guy and he doesn’t do change . . . so we stayed there fatalistically waiting for the woman to come back to her rightful place, back to her JOB and do her DUTY, instead of anything but. The Document Checkers to each side, actually noticed our Duty Shirking lady, and picked up the slack, but she returned to her rightly place in time for us. Well Thank you very much… And we moved on. Have A Nice DAY! At a snail’s pace we saw our next hurdle, the NEW dreaded X-ray machine. Oh Joy! As we slowly approached, my son again told me to calm down. Remarking, “Mom, aren’t you the Reiki peace, love and calm one now?” Thanks, son, I needed that thrown in my face were my nice thoughts, I won’t tell you my ROTTEN thoughts! So, I shut up, sucked it up and just sighed through the timely wait.

But I guess my Reiki Guides were looking down on me because guess who got to go through the regular check point? ME! Ha! God & Guides do work small miracles! Take that my snarky son and annoying airport workers! He had to go through the NEW X-ray machine and be patted down. Take that MR. Patient continue on, wait ’til you’re my age and have “been” being patient for years, it’s easy when you’re 20 and everything goes your way…we’ll see how patient a person you are when you’re in your 40′s.

(C) Written by Evelyn Garone 6/2011

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in family, Humor, new, Politically Correct, Travel, Uncategorized, Vacation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to So I Must Live A Charmed Life . . .

  1. ameli says:

    Thank you. Delightful and funny. I am grateful for the laugh.

    Ameli

Leave a Reply

