Review of Oak Creek Canyon, AZ

This blog was written with a certain person in mind,  I hope you enjoy . . .

If you are a follower of my blog, you’ll remember I whetted your appetite with a prologue of the beauty in Oak Creek Canyon, Arizona, a special natural getaway.

My friend and I decided to escape there for a short retreat a few days ago. It was very relaxing, but not all that we thought, or should I say more than we bargained for!

The woman at the desk was a handful and then some, I do not know if she had a chip on her shoulder, had “issues” or thought we were part of the problem.  After all we drove up in a little red convertible dressed to the nines, and thanks to my friend, who requested a “couples” massage, she might have thought we were there for a different type of get-a-way than perhaps she thought was apropo.

I did not happen to mention previously that she did not want to help us with the matter of our luggage, let’s suffice it to say, there were no bellmen! Nor were there any directions to your cabin, you had to figure that out, and God forbid if you asked too many questions. Helga was NO help at all. Beatch!  My Goodness, may Peace and Light help you on your way was all I could think!

My friend (female…platonic . . .we’re both married) is a little naive, and instead of just stating that we both wanted massages at the same time, perhaps outside, together, so we could chat . . . she blundered and said a couples massage. Now, I don’t care what your sexual preferences are, mine is heterosexual. So, I don’t know if this was the sticky wicket with Ms. Helga Happiness at the front desk or if she always has a stick up her ass, but she was not very forth coming or pleasant with us. She always had something snarky to say to us and it was usually a back answer for no apparent reason. We really couldn’t figure it out. Maybe she’s just NOT a people person! Go figure, but perhaps she shouldn’t be at the main desk, WELCOMING people into the place of business?  (Just  a kindly suggestion from little ole’ me) We figured we’d kill her with kindness, we never lost our cool.

In the evening there was a nice gentleman who took over for her, and he was always very accommodating and pleasant so if we could help it, we dealt with him. As it so happens, he and the chef told us that the few days we were staying at the establishment were now our days for life if we were so inclined. (And we are and couldn’t wait to tell this to Helga and THANK her for all her kindnesses and let her know she was ONE of the MAIN reasons we had decided to return!) It seems once you are lucky enough to get a reservation by default as we did; someone canceled . . . those days are then your days for LIFE as long as you don’t cancel. So we can go to Oak Creek Canyon forever! Yay! How wonderful we can outlive snarky Helga!

Anyway . . .  what is very interesting is we were there to get away . . . from everything . . . including people . . .  so we did not want to mingle.  But everyone was interested in us. Why were we NOT talking to anyone??? How dare we??? It was not anything personal . . . we were just there to get away from society, to unwind, to escape, to just BE . . .the quiet was important to us.

We happened to have cabin One. . .  the hub of social activity it seemed, everyone kind of walked by us in the morning, looking at us curiously.  We did not want to hold inane conversations with people we would never see again, I especially was not interested. Now we find we may see these people for years to come! How strange unfortunate we made such an impression…but then again, maybe we set the tone o we won’t be bothered in the future.

As was our wont we made up names and stories for everyone. We entertained ourselves one whole dinner regaling each other with hysterical comedies involving all around us. Now I find myself denying this fact, wondering if we’ll have to put real names to faces after the fact, damn!

The only saving grace may come as we search the net looking to change our standing date, as the date we have is while the weather is too warm. If we can change the date to earlier in the year, we’ll be saved, then we can leave these people . . . no offense but that was also one of the reasons we weren’t talking to any of them . . . we just don’t have a whole lot in common.

We looked for commonality . . .fly fishermen. . . .2  older women who insisted taking their purses with them everywhere they went, yes it was kind of endearing, hmmmmmmm,  mothers with little children trying to be SuperMom……,  hmmmmmmmm, nope, not yet, can’t see it, oh, how about the two other old women who were dying to talk to us, no I’m not trying to be mean. Really . . . I just wanted to be alone………  I wanted to meditate, do my art, have a massage, find myself, decompress, ya know?

Any how, that’s the way it was . . .

the cabin was small, but adorable. No air-conditioning, which was fine by me. The creek and waterfall were wonderful, the constant babbling sound was immensely soothing. The birds chirping and flitting non-stop was marvelous to the ears. There was a butterfly garden that was lovely and really did attract the biggest lushest butterflies I’ve ever seen. There was a yoga pavilion that doubled for outside massages right on the creek, fabulous! Relaxing, nice meals and views not to be beat, I think I’m ready to go back . . .if only I can have my space. I’ll just have to keep putting up my barriers, my invisible walls.  I feel like Greta Garbo . . .”I vant to be alone!”

(C) Written by Evie Garone 8/2011

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Beauty, cabin, creek, Entertainment, esoteric, Humor, interesting, Natural Beauty, nature, Travel, Vacation, Weather, Yoga and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review of Oak Creek Canyon, AZ

  1. jackie says:

    LMAO………laughed til I cried!!!!!! Great telling!!

Leave a Reply

