The Ugly in “Dancing With The Stars”! #

I must say I don’t even watch the show. I was just so incensed to hear about the ignorance and intolerance of people that I felt compelled to write this blog.

The New Fall Line Up has been announced for “DWTS” and as usual many Americans are letting their intolerance and ugly show because of the choice of contestants. Chaz Bono, formerly known as Chastity Bono, the first transgendered person to appear on such a mainstream show is causing all kinds of controversy and it’s mostly negative.

Why in Gods name can’t people let other people just live and be?

Chaz Bono has stated that he had felt that he was trapped in a female body for years and thanks to the amazing medical advances this lucky person has had medical procedures to feel that he is now rightly placed as a man. How is that anyone else’s problem or business? How is that an issue for him to dance or not to dance in the competition?

Of course he will dance as a man, with a woman, for everyone who is confused with the information. For people with any issues with this, they do NOT have to view the program, they have the power to change the channel and should do so.

Why must people be haters and send nasty mail to ABC saying it isn’t right? Who are they to decide what is or isn’t correct or acceptable? Nature can be cruel, and perhaps people can be placed in the wrong body? Perhaps that modern science can help is wonderful?!

If people are inherently against this, well good for them for being so sure that they KNOW what is right and wrong, I sure don’t. Only the powers that be do. I think love and tolerance is what is right! How is this person hurting anyone dancing on a competition show – DWTS? Really? How important is this show anyway? It’s a dance competition of washed-up stars and has-beens mostly.

If the people who are concerned for their children’s welfare which has been mentioned, that is an interesting point. To shield their children from a fact may only be hurting them, ignorance never helps anyone. As this medical procedure could become more mainstream and should be acknowledged as a reality might be important to notice and eventually it might become a common thing.  Transgender people are real.

If no one says anything to THE children, they wouldn’t even KNOW anything about Chaz Bono and his personal decision. Sony and Cher were way before their time, thus so is (Chastity) Chaz. He looks and acts like a regular man. He is a regular man. The parents, paranoid and intolerant people are putting their own sick spin on the issue and making it seem a problem for their own political statement. I don’t think they are going to make an issue of it on the show. It’s about THE dance, isn’t it?!

The person I’m turned off with is Nancy Grace. She is just so over-the-top, but I’m not writing letters! Also, perhaps watching someone you really know nothing about but have a bad impression of might open your eyes to their true personality and you might grow in tolerance and insight . . . just sayin’!

(C) Written by Evelyn Garone 8/31/11

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Dancing With The Stars, Doctors, Entertainment, esoteric, family, interesting, Media, Medical, Men, nature, new, News, TV, Twitter, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Ugly in “Dancing With The Stars”! #

  1. stevebetz says:

    I completely agree! When did contestants on reality TV shows have to be “evaluated” by pundits about what their participation “means”? Good Lord. My reality TV starts and ends at “Top Chef”, so I can’t really comment on the content of DWTS (where certainly “star” seems up for debate), but it’s despicable the way that people feel free to unleash hate on someone else just because they’re on a game show. Wow.

    I’m no fan of Sarah Palin, but this reminds me of the way people got all over her daughter for participating a season or two ago. Awful.

    • Evie Garone says:

      It is unbelievable the way people can’t wait to let loose a diatribe of hate . . . and call or send their opinion to the producers of the like of ABC that they have the audacity to use some contestant or other! I watch a few of the shows but only that have to do with antiques and goods like that because I like the history involved! But otherwise I’ll pass . . . I KNOW how to change the channel!!! Thanks for commenting & reading Steve, I can always count on you, I don’t know who else reads, but I know you’re out there!! Evie

  2. I was reading something else regarding this on another blog. Interesting, your position about it is diametrically contradicted to what I read earlier. I am still pondering over the various points of view, but I am tipped to a great extent toward yours. And no matter, that’s what is so good about modernized democracy and the marketplace of thoughts on-line.

Leave a Reply

