My NOOK . . .

I received my NOOK last Christmas and it was one of the best gifts ever. But as in all good things, times change. Don’t get me wrong, I still love my NOOK. I just get so exasperated at the Library system and their filing of books.

No matter what I do to look at Adult books, the category Young Adults always comes mixed in. So, I have to weed through the books one by one so as not to read kids books. How frustrating.

Being that this media has caught on so well, the amount of books available is limited,too. Most books aren’t available immediately, you must put a hold on them and wait. I guess it is the price you pay for being lucky enough to be able to borrow from the library, not always buy books. I do not buy books on my NOOK. If I am going to purchase, it will be a physical copy so I can keep it forever in my bookcase.

Technology is amazing and being able stay home, go to your computer and download to borrow a book, I guess these little inconveniences are worth it!

Perhaps these little glitches will be worked out with time?

What do you think?

Written by Evelyn Garone 11/13/11

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Books, Customer Service, Education, esoteric, new, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My NOOK . . .

  1. Mike C says:

    Popular books at our library sometimes have over a 6 month wait list. At least they let you know, “you are 68th on the waitlist and we have 4 copies” With a 2 week lending period this translates into a 34 weeks wait if they are not returned early. It has not gotten any better since they eliminated the 3 week check out option. It has gotten worse, now that they offer lending to kindle owners too!

    I seem to be able to get enough books to read though. We can have up to 7 on our hold list, and 5 checked out at one time. When I have no library books to read, I resort to the BN list of free or really cheap books. When I first got my nook, I was spending a fortune on books, now I never pay more than 1.99 for any book from bn.com. If I could get my wife to register her library card, I could double my waitlist. She could never get a book from the library, takes her a month to fininsh a book!

    • Evie Garone says:

      I KNOW! When you told me about this bad situation months ago, my library was still letting you take the books out for 3 wks. & no special KINDLE addition. Hummpph! I will check out the free BK books & ones for $1.99, thanks!

  2. Pingback: Free Nook Books! « Books in the Burbs

Leave a Reply

