Why Are The Conservatives Becoming So Radical?

Republican Party (United States)

Image via Wikipedia

I understand the Republicans want to beat Obama, I want him out of office, too but at what price? I think these guys need to settle down and get a grip. If not for all the negative campaigning I don’t know if they’d even have a leg to stand on except their radicalism.

I think I understand basic conservatism  but I don’t totally agree with all the rhetoric the current Republican Nominees are running under. I don’t understand why they are spouting all their religious spiel . . . I thought church and state were to be separated. I believe in religious freedom, but to talk of nothing else but religion is getting old and tired. I don’t happen to be religious myself, I’m spiritual, I’m really not sure what I believe.  I do know I believe there is a higher power but I do not want to be preached to.

As for gay marriage, I think there are so many more important issues out there affecting the country right now, I don’t think that should be such an important issue on the agenda…can’t we leave that to the states and the people themselves. Is it that important now? Young people do not care. Times change and maybe so should us middle aged people, perhaps we should be open minded to people’s freedoms, if it’s not hurting us let people be. What ever happened to jobs and the economy and the debt and international matters? My goodness, the rate of unemployment is so high it is affecting almost everyone you know.  Why does it really matter if people who love each other get a piece of paper saying they are attached for life when people of the opposite sex are getting divorced at such a high rate? We’re obviously not doing a great job of it, so if gay people want to marry so badly, have at it! And they definitely deserve the rights that go along with it, like rights in the hospital, rights to make financial decisions for each other, etc.

As for abortion, hasn’t that been decided? Didn’t we fight this fight and have this decision passed in 1973? Why would we set women and their freedom and choice back 40 years by a bunch of men for a competition to be President? Is that right? They’re even talking no abortion in cases of rape and incest….can they be serious? WTH? Who is the Government to decide this so personal matter? Women do NOT take this matter lightly….there are times when a women finds out a fetus is diseased and going to die that a women may choose to have an abortion. I believe that is between her, her husband and perhaps her clergy member, NOT her President Rick Santorum. I don’t want abortions funded by the government and paid by insurance why doesn’t the government stay out of our bedrooms, our family and personal matters?

When did all these matters become important matters to the Republican party? If they keep this up they may quite literally give this slam dunk election to Obama when they should win if they ran on the economy and the unemployment rate and the bail outs.

Instead the Republicans have turned the election into a nasty negative competition and have done half of Obama’s job for him. As they’ve been busy hurling mud, Obama’s been taking notes, so now he’s ready for the campaign trail and his own set of debates with whoever wins the nomination with his gazillions of dollars. He’s also ready to rip to shreds their crazy radical ideas for the rest of the country who doesn’t agree. And we know he’s smooth as silk when he orates!

These are just my humble opinions, what the hell do I know? What do you all think? Maybe this is why I really am an independent….

(C) Written by Evelyn Garone 2/8/12

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Abortion, Anti-Obama, Comservatives, History, Media, Men, Obama, politics, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why Are The Conservatives Becoming So Radical?

  1. stevebetz says:

    I agree with you. I think the right has lost its chance of holding the middle. I remember when being Republican meant that you worked for a balanced budget and the end of the Cold War. A balanced budget meant appropriate taxes and expenditures.

    This crew seems to think that if you don’t believe in a white, Protestant agenda then you’re not REALLY American. Which is crap, of course.

    • Evie Garone says:

      So Steve WTH? I just don’t get it??? I’m so frustrated, I feel there is NO choice…I’m watching the meltdown of AMERICA with nothing to hold on to. As I watch the politicos TELL me who to vote for I chafe more and more, wondering who it is that is voting for Santorum and WHY? Are they hearing the same thing I am, ie. his over the top Catholic beliefs and now his old-fashioned male-chauvinistic woman at home view? Do they not care about the erosion of their freedoms? Or will we be left with Obama care at our peril? AOBO (Anyone but Obama) is a scary thought if my freedoms are going to be trampled on, so do we stand our ground and NOT vote to make a statement (if only EVERYBODY in AMERICA would do IT!), no then the uninformed win, hands out takers who love the largess Obama promises!…I just don’t know…perhaps it’ll become clearer as November gets closer? I’ve heard so much double talk and negativity I can’t even keep it straight anymore and I FOLLOW politics, imagine the people who just listen to the headlines and lies! Thanks for reading and following my blog…please pardon my blathering on…I’m just so upset by it all!

Leave a Reply

