Leaving the Store Barefoot…

Bare feet running

And there I was!

I don’t think that happens very often, and I don’t believe that has EVER happened to me before but I’m always open to new adventures.

Today I went out to do a bunch of errands, shopping, dressed well thinking I looked nice. I put on a pretty new dress and sexy new shoes. I went to the library and found some books that looked interesting, from there I moved on to a clothing store and found some nice new clothes, and God knows I can always use new clothes. The sales lady from Kohl’s was especially nice, she honored the Kohl’s cash I had that was expired, so I got a smokin’ deal leaving there happily telling the sales woman that she indeed was an “Angel“.

By this time I had noticed that two of my toes holding on to the thong of leather that goes between the toes were really starting to hurt. Ow! I believe I was actually getting cuts which to my mind were even worse than blisters. It was awful. This was the first time I had worn these shoes, and I wasn’t done shopping. I started to park at another clothing store to look for a few more cute dresses  but realized there was no way my toes were going to make it any longer. I knew the store where I got the shoes, Stein Mart was right in the next mall, so I decided to drive over, park right in front go immediately to the shoe dept. tell the manager my problem so they could perhaps help me. As it so happens, the woman in the shoe dept. suggested I look around to find a new pair to exchange, which I did, though unfortunately I saw no shoes to my liking and decided I wouldn’t buy any just to leave with a pair on my feet.  My car was not too far out in the parking lot, I justified, I could return the painful ones and run to my car barefoot.  After all don’t many of us walk barefoot in our homes, backyards, etc., so what’s the big deal?  The manager asked me if I had the box or the receipt…umm, why would I? I was wearing the shoes out, which I had liked…of course I didn’t have either with me. I explained about stopping in on the spur of the moment because I was in PAIN!! What would they DO for me now? Well…hmmm, she thought, I could see the thought-bubble over her head. Thank the Goddess she eventually found a similar pair, looked it up on the computer, unfortunately it didn’t pop up on my credit card, so I know she was stumped. The young man running the computer watching me with my BARE FEET  right there in the store at his register, used his head, overran the program, credited me the full price and let me go. He was such a nice young man who was willing to think. So I left barefooted, ran to my car through the burning parking lot and went home to attend to my boo boos. Life’s always an adventure!

© Evelyn Garone 4/2010

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in angel, barefoot, funny, shoes, shopping, store, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

