OMG, The Reunion was Great . . .

Addams Family Reunion

Image via Wikipedia

It was so interesting to see all these people after so many years. Of course my brother and I had no idea how many years it actually had been so we had our cousins to figure that out! Of course that was as they were consuming MANY beers. For some reason I was drinking coffee and water, maybe because it was chilly, after all, I am from Arizona where it’s ALWAYS warm, and we were now in PA where it’s known to snow at any time . . .

Let us start at the beginning of this odyssey or you’ll really have no idea of what I write.

As I understand it now, one of my older cousins, Dana, had attended a Reunion for the other side of her family – her husbands – one thing led to another and a daughter and she then decided it was time that the other side, “ours” start our own “Annual Reunion”, thus it was born.

What’s funny, is now I’ve heard rumblings at said Reunion, that as it should be an annual “thing”,  someone should take charge and have it, I’m dying to see how this will play out! I live in Arizona, they’re welcome to come to my house, but will everyone really fly out? Doubt it… Time will tell. . .we do have quiet a few bosses , so we’ll see how it works as, who throws the next one? Maybe in order of age or something. . .oldest to youngest hosts . . .? Don’t know, like I said, only time will tell, and if it works out as well as this one did, everything will be fine.

Back to the happiness. Arriving at my cousins Daryl who was putting my brother and I up for our week visit. We had no issues except he decided to be too nice as he always is and traded his plane seat to a wonderful mother/son duo who then sat next to me. The wonderful young tyke decided he had no”inside” voice, only his especially LOUD voice that rang through the cabin to my brother’s seat where he was cowering knowing without looking that they had to have been the seatmates he traded with because that’s who I facetiously said I’ d hoped I wasn’t getting!! Of course it was. Besides that, which was hilarious, everything went else went well with the flight.

When we arrived, we chatted endlessly as if we had not been separated for years. We were always very close as we were growing up.

We picked up the next day over coffee, right where we left off, still talk, talk, talking.  We took to the car, and drove for miles looking at all the sights my brother, cousin and I remembered from our childhood. I can’t even tell you how many pictures I took. So many, that I will cherish for the rest of my life.

At the reunion, I got to see my little cousins, who are no longer my” little” cousins and I believe they were as happy to see me as I was to see them. It was wonderful! They remembered me which was a nice thing, and recognized me, which was heartwarming! I’m a soft touch so things like that mean a lot to me. I call that warm & fuzzy and that is what I am . . .

Not quite everyone was there, but when they hear how nice it was, maybe they’ll make the effort to come next time. Spouses and children were invited, I didn’t bring mine, because they did not really know anyone except my sister’s family, and it was a long trip, I flew in from Arizona to PA.  Maybe another year, if it’s at my brother Dennis’ in FL, or at our’s in AZ, my sons & husband will start the process of getting acquainted with my extended family and we can make it a family affair every year. If not, I will be more than happy to attend MY Family Reunion EVERY year. It was so much fun, and heartwarming. Kudos, Dana!! I would suggest this idea for a way to keep in touch with family. . .

(C) Written by Evelyn Garone 5/2010

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Adult Humor, Blogging, family, family reunion, funny, interesting, new, Travel, Uncategorized, Vacation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

