Life is funny sometimes. . .

Fawn

There are so many things to talk about . . .

I had to cancel my hair appointment with my friend Jackie for today because as I said yesterday I just didn’t feel tiptop . . . and still don’t today. The throat is still scratchy, my ear is still a little echoey, and the head is achy other than that I’m great!

So I downloaded the pictures from my trip and they are terrific! I have one of a deer and her fawn. . . I happened to love that one very much, I know my cousin thought I was goofy ‘ cause I got all teary eyed, but she sees deer all the time,  I don’t and there is just something about Bambi that does it for me!

The memories incited from these pictures are amazing. When I look at them I remember all kinds of happy things from my childhood, and I can’t tell you how wonderful it was to go back to visit. The trip was fabulous. Most of the things I remember from my childhood were still there and tripped good memories. Unlike so many times it was as good as I remembered and I regret NOTHING!!

The only problem, is the live memory is better than the pictures are. I was just THERE! I went back and  lived it but I’m glad I have the pictures for posterity. So some day I will perhaps need them again to remind me, the swinging bridge was STILL there, so was our Summer House, of course the River was there, my Great Grandparents Boarding House is gone, but I got a picture of the property, and the surrounding area, the cemetery was there and the family grave sites and the Church, so I got pictures of that. That will go down in the family for posterity, so we have records and I’m happy for that.

Driving down Memory Lane was so special. My brother Dennis, my cousin Daryl, her husband Jerry and I drove all over Pike County, PA and reminisced. We had so much fun. I was the shutter bug. She had to pull over for me to take pictures of things I thought were of importance. We laughed, talked, visited and had more good old-fashioned fun than I remember having in a long, long time. We never even watched TV the whole time we were together which I can’t say has happened in years except for this 6 days. It seemed more and less time than 6 days, but I’ll never forget it!

(C) Written by Evelyn Garone 9/2010

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in family, family reunion, Humor, interesting, nature, new, Travel, Uncategorized, Vacation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

