Memorial Day

Large beef steaks over wood

Image via Wikipedia

Most of  us in America celebrate this day with BBQ‘s and relaxation. I am lucky to have the holiday sometimes, like this year, fall on my birthday. We don’t have to get into which birthday, that is for me to know and  you to assume about 10 years less than the truth.  Anyway, my husband, my son and I are having a quiet BBQ and birthday together. Nice, just a perfect day in my opinion. It would be the four of us, but my younger son just graduated from high school and needed to sow some wild oats in Mexico with his compadres. So he jumped across the border and is staying in a condo at the beach for a week. If they check his papers when he crosses the border they will be in order because he IS a citizen and has his passport, license and any other papers they would need to see.

He is 18 so he is legal to drink there now, though so I am a little trepidatious about how that will pan out. As far as I know he really hasn’t dabbled with alcohol yet, he hasn’t been interested. We don’t really imbibe ourselves, my husband and I at home on a day to day basis. We may drink once in a while when we go out to dinner with friends but it is a family joke how badly I hold my liquor. I can only have one or two drinks and eventually I usually tell the family that some time during the night I was sick. I have a sensitive stomach, so between my “girly” drinks; fancy martinis, and the rich seafood that I love, my stomach rebels in the wee hours of the morning. My sons find this a hoot! In the long run, this may have been a help in deterring them from drinking. So every cloud really does have a silver lining.

I am hoping that between not liking the taste of beer, we’ve given him a few sips here and there, and not liking having seen drunk people, he’s told me about kids who he’s seen who have been wasted, he won’t want to get TOO wasted. That’s my hope. We’ll see. He talks to me, so I’ll ask when he gets home. I know he has to learn and grow up, I just don’t want anything bad to happen, I did tell him before he left, No Love without a Glove! I hope he took that to heart!

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Memorial Day

  1. jackie says:

    Still funny every time u say it!!!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

