I HATE/LOVE TECHNOLOGY . . .

I believe my accounts were hacked into and now it’s going to take a while for my life to be the same. . .My facebook account, email and this blog were messed with so I had to go see the Geek squad and what a can of worms was unleashed!!

Now it was going to cost $200 just to clean up the 3 viruses and I believe there was also a hacker stalking me. If after the Geeks had worked on the computer and I took it home and some of the same problems continued, too bad they could and would not be held responsible! Now, the computer in question is already 3 1/2 yrs. old and I could get a nice brandy new one for $547, so why not go for it? Thank God for my wonderful husband . . . so here I am typing on the new one. Which Thank God for my son, too who took all the time to set it up with me today, and what a trial that is! Oh, my goodness! Phone calls to the cable company to get new passwords, deleting 100’s of people from facebook to clean it up, etc. OMG!! I don’t want to take any chances with all the games, gamers and extra nonsense for more viruses so I am keeping my friends to a minimum, just close friends who I know and want to talk to,and I am going to use FB JUST for social networking.

Of course I also had to get back on this site! Everything was a nightmare! It all started the other night when I decided to help my son and husband because they were complaining that they were having trouble getting on line. When I started having trouble myself and I actually verbalized it, they jumped on the bandwagon and admitted that they have been having trouble for a while. Huh? When were they going to come clean? Anyway, we all decided maybe it was time to get a new router/modem.

So my son and I made a plan for the next day. It sounded simple. How naive and optimistic can I still be?

We assume we’ll go to the electronics store, pick up the router/modem, take it home, he’ll install it and move on with life . . yea as if anything can ever be that simple . . .what were we thinking?

We show up at the electronics store, start looking at the products and for some reason, that is beyond me, now they seem to have separated the router and modem. Why do they (the producers) go backwards, the 2 in 1 made sense. They could have both choices and a few of each, but no thats not the way it goes in this world, that would make sense again. Many choices of separate routers and modems, not many of router/modems together. The one we picked out and were ready to go to the checkout with, which we were saved from mistakenly purchasing by a sales clerk who surprisingly turned up after ten minutes of no help by any one, only worked on a different cable provider than the one we have. Go figure.

They actually have special products for special cable providers! How ridiculous! If you want a router or modem from a cable provider, you can purchase or rent from them, why do we need that choice at the store too??  I don’t get it . . .

Ok, now we have the two products, we’re on our way home, $149.00, about $70.00 more than I thought, but I do know I have know idea what I’m doing or thinking by this time, and let me tell you, I’m not wrong, because it only gets more and more fun. . .

So after two hours of my son messing around, changing wires, trying everything he finally tells me we should call our cable provider for help. Oh, no! I suggested that 1 1/2 hrs. ago. So I call them. It turns out it’s not his fault, they need a # off the back of the modem, we give it to the woman it doesn’t seem to work. I call her back, we read her all our #’s again, make an appointment for the next day for Service, hang up and now it seems as if it has worked. Yea!

We go downstairs to play with our laptops, his works, good for him!!

Mine on the other hand now has every problem there can be. I never had a problem until the night before when I lost the Internet. Now my Facebook will not recognize my username and/or password, ditto or this WordPress Blog. I cannot get into anything. I start shaking. I cannot live without my computer. My son has decided to put security on the new EVERYTHING!! This is great! Except it is SO secure I can not USE it!!

He figures how to load the internet to my computer, but nothing else will work. He has to leave me. I keep messing around and I get in intermittenly onto facebook and this blog site, but then it kept shutting me down.  And when I was in this blog site I wrote a really eloquent blog of 600+ words that I wasn’t done with that I lost 300 words of, so I persevered and wrote 900+ about No Good Deed Goes Unpunished . . . I published and it disappeared into the ether. I then was sent a message addressed to me that told me I was chasing the White rabbit around and around in circles. I shut down and chilled after that!

Then this was where I ended up at the Electronics store finding out about the viruses. . .

So there you go . . .Isn’t Life Grand . . .

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

