It is The Monsoon Season in Arizona

Regions of the cerebral cortex associated with...

Image via Wikipedia

and I am awaiting some storms. We need rain and I need release from the humidity for my headaches to receed. It is as if a band is across my forehead and being tightened. It is very painful. I am not the same person and cannot function properly. I am in constant pain.

Before I moved to Arizona,  suffering in New Jersey was quite common and quite frequent. It was a terrible and debilitating problem for me. There would be many days I would have to lay down with the pain. My sons learned to be very self-sufficient and I have to say I am very proud of them for that. I feel bad I would be so sick and had to be so out of it for so much time, but it probably made them stronger. I eventually found some relief from trying a Research Study for getting botox shots in my head.  They stumbled across this use when they were using it for plastic surgery, how ironic. I knew I was not getting the placebo because I found such relief from the study shots. I eventually signed up for quarterly shots and to this day do this therapy for pain relief. I know when it is time for my next dosage by how sudden, how severely, and how often my headaches are. It is kind of weird living your life around them, but what are you going to do? When they are in check, you don’t realize you have them, and life is normal, but at this time of year, when your weak human body comes into play, ouch, it’s amazing how much you realize you have to take care of it and baby it.

Believe me, I have tried everything, from pain pills, acupuncture, yoga, diet, sleep, doctors, both regular, homeopathic, neurological,and have had every test there is and I have been told that I just have to live with the headaches, but maybe someday they will just go away .

So I do. Don’t get me wrong. I’m not complaining, just explaining who I am. For this is part of who I am.

So, Rain Gods do your thing!!! I may even do a Dance!!!

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It is The Monsoon Season in Arizona

  1. pompouspilot says:

    Nice insight, I can see that writing helps you sort out who you are, I hope there is more dancing and less pain for you ahead.

    Like

    • Evie Garone says:

      Thanks for the compliment, it’s nice to hear people like my writing…though I love to do it for therapy, too!! I think the head is a little better today, thanks for caring!! Dancing soon, OR A RAIN DANCE!!

      Like

  2. well…i know that feeling…pressure urging to come out…while i was reading your post i suddenly had in mind the image of Zeus birthing Athena with the help of Hephaestus…anyway, if it rains i’ll join your dance…cross my heart…i need some rain here too, even if it’s miles away from your place 🙂
    love, Lilly x

    Like

  3. John Mcnroe says:

    I was reading Paulo Coelho’s book entitled Eleven Minutes and I felt sympathy for the main character in the plot since life in general for her was cruel. The author was really imaginative without losing grasp of the ruthless realities of these days which made the work of fiction worth reading.

    Like

Leave a Reply

