Ooops, I did it again…

The Doctor, by Sir Luke Fildes (1891)

Image via Wikipedia

I had a definite topic I was about to write about…I even had a VERY catchy  title, and pouf… out the top of my head. I hope it comes back, only time will tell.

Maybe this was it, but in lieu of that, here’s my Bitch of the day…

I was up nice and early, I had to call the doctor for my son, he has a swollen gland that we wanted to have looked at right away, so off we went to the doctor. That couldn’t be enough, while she was gazing in his ears, she decided he either has scar tissue, or a fungal infection…go figure…and of course she can’t decide. She says it looks like cotton, and we know he doesn’t have cotton in his ear, right, ha, ha, so of course she can’t do anything because she’s only a PA (physician‘s assistant), so let her send us on to a ENT (Ear, nose & throat) guy to see if it’s just scar tissue or is it a fungal infection? Hmmm? I guess he needs his slice of the pie, too. I don’t mean to sound so cynical, it’s just after you get the bums rush out of the office, you start to wonder why she didn’t know the difference. I definitely want to know both, after all it’s my sons health, is it that hard to tell the difference and is it a fungal infection?

If so what do we do? She said maybe drops, which would be different drops for fungal compared to a regular infection, which would just make the ear red. So, one of the problems, is the turnover rate of doctors and PA (physicians assistants) in this doctors office that we go to. There was another nice PA who had seen us enumerable times and I guess she knew my sons ears, or he really does have a fungal infection, only time will tell. So, when we got home I immediately called the ENT and we have an appointment very soon. So we’ll soon know.

Then when we get home from that I can go to check out my personal trainer liked I said I would today!!

But back to the problem of the office, I believe this is symptomatic of the system of medicine today. Whenever I do find a doctor or PA in this office they move on to greener pastures. I believe there is a power play going on in the office and one of the doctors won. He took over the office and decided to become a Concierge doctor for $5,000 a year to everyone who was a patient before hand including my family, I declined, as I have good insurance so we get the other PA’s in the office and they must stay there for experience and once they know what they are doing they move on. So, it may be time for us to move on, too. Rats, I loved the convenience of the place, for distance and ease of appointment. Go figure.

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

