But He Does Have To Move On . . .

A photo of a cup of coffee.

Yumm...never can have enough!

Today I am helping my son search for some furniture for the new rented house he will be sharing with another guy. As I sit here waiting for him to stir, I realize it’s the beginning of a new era. My son really is a grown man now.

He is in the other room still sleeping, though he’s on the cusp of adulthood, he still likes to stay up late and sleep late. I shouldn’t talk, I am a supposed adult and I do the same thing. I only roused myself a little while ago knowing we wanted to get this show on the road early. As I sit here drinking my beloved coffee, thinking over the day ahead, I’m a little sad.

He and I do things so well together, I hope he enjoys the time with me as much as I do with him. So, even though this little shopping expedition will be bittersweet as we’re searching for furniture for his first home, I shall just enjoy being with my sweet boy!

Oh, I know he must spread his wings and move on.  I just can’t help remembering some old memories:  holding him in my arms at his christening as the Priest sprinkled the Holy water on his head,  laughing as he used to walk around with glee saying “bus, bus” whenever he saw one and lastly how he would pepper me with questions about anything and everything. I would always tell him he should be a lawyer. So sometimes you get your wish, because he is moving into his house to study law!

(C) Written by Evelyn Garone 7/10

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Blogging, esoteric, family, interesting, Memory, Men, new, shopping, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

