Reader’s Digest Sweepstakes Facts . . .

logo used until 2007

Image via Wikipedia

OK, so I have been a Reader’s Digest Magazine subscriber for years! I have loved the Columns like “That’s Outrageous!”, Off Base, Humor In Uniform, Word Power, I swear this has helped foster my vocabulary all these years, but with my sons leaving home and my lifestyle changing I have decided to cancel my subscription.

Well, I’m thinking that the company has decided differently. Or put it this way; they will not let me go that easily. Maybe they have separation anxiety. They immediately sent me a box, with a big FREE notice on it. And the fool that I am, I opened it! What was I thinking? Why did I not immediately put Return to Sender, and put it back in the mail box?! Everyone loves FREE?! So I opened it ! Pandora‘s box. . .it was a “supposed” free book . . .ok, but now I’m in a book club that I did not sign up for, did not want and damn it, there is no phone number or info. to quit! Rats! But, guess what?! I was automatically registered in The Sweepstakes and the Entry Is Free and you don’t have to buy ANYTHING! They say it’s not a book club, but they are going to send you books to check out, so what would you call that?? So I guess when I get the next shipment of books, I just put return to sender on them and throw them back in the mailbox!!!  But what a Pain in the A$$! I hate this stuff! I don’t think it should be legal to send people things like this without their permission! I don’t know if it is, but it shouldn’t be!!

I’ve gotten checks in the mail also, I thought they were rebate checks, my husband and I didn’t read the fine print so we cashed them, more the fool he and I were. Anyway, later I noticed a bogus charge on our monthly bank statement for some Travel Service for $19.99 a month. I never requested it or solicited this company. Thank God I happened to be at the bank with a bank manager at the time going over some other discrepancy, when we happened to notice this, so we called this company, and they told us of this little scheme, I immediately demanded my $79.99 in back charges, refund paid in full and they did grudgingly as I was there at the bank with them on my side. It was awesome!

So, I guess my lesson learned, and mine to share is be careful with everything that you get in the mail and be leery, no one is just nice for no reason, I hate to say it but it’s true!

So, is the Free Sweepstakes worth the Nonsense that comes with it!!! I think NOT!!

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

