Todays 40’s are the New 60’s !#*

Our last climb of the day

Image via Wikipedia

Yeah, yeah, yeah, I’ve heard all the wonderful strides some people have made in the ageing process . Those wonderfully active people in their 60’s that feel and act like they are in their 40’s amaze me. Climbing the Himalayas willy nilly, sky diving, running marathons, rock climbing sheer rock walls, Bike Touring Europe, swimming from Cuba to Florida, things like that they think are the norm.  Well, God Bless them. I think they are nuts and don’t know where they got their second wind from! So, maybe with the universe having to maintain Equilibrium we 40 somethings have to feel like 60 somethings. That’s my hypotheses.

When I was in my teens, into my 20’s and 30’s I could climb like a monkey, carry things anywhere, hike, do cart wheels, move furniture, go all night and still have the energy to carry on the next day.  Doing all those things was second nature. I was very active, coordinated, and busy. Now give me a good book, a couch and I’m good.

Today, my balance is off, I don’t feel comfortable climbing, even a step ladder makes me wobbly, and I feel put upon when asked to do things like climb and check the hot water heater, or the water meter outside. Yuck! I just don’t want to! I had to trudge outside in the heat, take the heavy metal cover off the water meter, then put my hand down a hole with about 50 jumping gross clickety crickets! Ick!

I have a “trick” shoulder now, I have osteopenia , I beat breast cancer but I just don’t feel as strong as I was. I will muddle through, but I’m not going to give the 20 somethings anything to worry about! Maybe things will look up when I hit my 60’s!

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in funny, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Todays 40’s are the New 60’s !#*

  1. Slamdunk says:

    I can relate. My mind can still see myself as it was when I was in my 20s, but when I try to do them, I see myself in slow-motion now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

