I Swear I Invented It!!

Cover of "Blah, Blah, Blah"

Cover of Blah, Blah, Blah

Did you ever have a good idea and swear you were the first person to think of it, yet before you ever do anything with it, such as copyright it, or make sure you bring Nationwide attention to it someone else says it was THEIR idea??

It all started when I was about 12-13 in 7th grade Art. I recall it all very clearly as if it happened yesterday. We were painting that lovely day in May in NJ. The first bell rang, “Hurry, hurry, it’s time to clean up,” yelled my teacher oblivious to the real avante garde burgeoning artiste among them.  As I was cleaning up the paint at the ugly slop sinks provided in our wonderful run of the mill public school that was Oh so pedestrian, I ran my paint riddled hand through my long blond hair as a statement! Later looking in the mirror, I realized I loved the look. When asked,  knowing people wouldn’t “get it” I acted shocked and surprised at said paint. Some people did say it “Looked Cool”! Fast forward 6 years, I was buying paint to put in my hair! They are doing it now on TV all the time! Need I say more!

It’s so frustrating!! Everyone knows how Paris Hilton got a copyright on “That’s Hot!” because she is known worldwide.  Well I swear I started saying Blah, Blah, Blah about 20 years ago and now it has caught on worldwide and I WANT MY COPYRIGHT!!! I want my credit.  I even hear newscasters using this expression since it has caught on and gone so mainstream, and I want to be paid EVERY TIME someone uses it on air.

I have been drinking half lemonade/half iced tea for years, before it was called an Arnold Palmer. Well, I refuse to call it that when I order it, I tell the waiter/waitress that I will have an EVELYN, and when they ask what that is I tell them the recipe, when they look at me, I tell them I never heard of an Arnold Palmer I have been drinking them, Evelyn’s for years!!

I also, when asked, “How are you doing?” reply FABULOUS! That is MINE!!! You heard it here! I have said it so many times automatically a friend of mine even bought me a charm with “Fabulous” on it. It is MY calling card.  After all, when people ask “How are you?” they really do not want to hear you bitch and moan, it’s merely a way of saying “Hello!” so I put a happy face on it and came up with a bright happy answer automatically. I was saying it way before the stupid GUM commercial!

Oh, I know this isn’t quite the same thing, but hey, you gotta get credit where credit is due. I also definitely know the latest fashion trends WAY before they start! I swear I was looking for metallic purses way before they caught on. I was out at all the malls, outlets, designer stores on the hunt for silver purses asking sales girls personally to get me a silver purse. After a while living with the silver purse, I went on the hunt for a gold purse, none to be found. Now they are both every where!! Go figure! It’s not easy being the Unrecognized trend setter I am!

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in funny, new, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Swear I Invented It!!

  1. Ha! Very funny! When I was in the 2nd grade, LONG before they were invented I invented lighted shoes! Our nun teacher asked us to write about something we would invent if we could. I wrote about light up boots, I think that nun took my idea and sold it to a shoe company and is probably sipping Mai Tai’s on a beach somewhere!

    Like

  2. Next time I go out for a drink I’m going to order an Evelyn. It’s about time they gave credit where credit is due! This is simply fabulous!

    Like

  3. thypolarlife says:

    I can’t even begin to count how many great ideas I had that mysteriously turned up somewhere later on. I have had sayings that I’ve heard later on down the line also.

    Great post. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

