Cancer-Free among other things . . . #

DSCI0052

Image by Colegio Altamira via Flickr

Today I had an appointment with my oncologist for my 2 year check-up. It was a happy occasion. I had my blood drawn the day before like every other time and there was a little trepidation as I showed up at the Dr.’s  office just like every other time. I was taken right in the Dr’.s office, after filling out paper work which I abhor.

After a little chitchat with the assistant and the Dr. alike, we got down to the good stuff, (cough, cough) the actual feeling up of my boobs, which I am sooo sick of. I have done it so much, I was starting to lift my shirt to the washer/dryer repair men, really.  The nice Dr. did tell me the greatest news today though, I am cancer free, all my blood work looks great and I do not have to see him as often. Now just every 6 months for about 3 more years then I will be call cured! Hallelujah! Thank You Sweet Jesus!

So on to other topics of the day…after getting sick with cancer, breast cancer it was for me, I realized I had to prioritize what was important to me and let the other things go. I had to step down from Chairing Bunco and Charity at my Womens Club and I haven’t looked back.

Talking to a friend of mine today I realized why I am so happy I made those decisions and know they were wise for me. I know people are just being human and they don’t mean to be petty and small minded, that having been said, I have to laugh at how many times I have to talk my friend through the mine field of the Bunco Squad’s squabbles and if I would have had the patience for that at the time I was going through chemo and life and death issues.

Unfortunately these women seem to have too much time on their hands so they must get involved in each others business, yet no one wants to actually run the Bunco Group. When I had to step down, only my one girlfriend stepped up to take it over, now everyone is happy to freely advise on what she should do to make it better, how she should run it, about moving people to the sub list if they are away too much, etc. They say it to each other when she is not there and then it is repeated through a liaison over the phone. Thank God I am so removed that I can advise and laugh at this. The whole cancer thing has changed my life. I see things in a much more removed and amused way. Almost as though people are so much more oblivious or obtuse. Let them be worried about these silly things. None of that really matters, pish posh.

Oh well. I try to help my friend with what makes the most sense, but does anything really matter in the grand scheme of things?

Just live life and try to be happy without hurting anyone else!

Written by Evelyn Garone 10/27/10

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in family, funny, health, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cancer-Free among other things . . . #

  1. Posky says:

    Well that is good news. Cancer free is such a mundane thing to be until you’ve said it after being cancerous. I am very glad to hear that despite all of the horrors it is over and it has helped shape you in a positive way.

    Most people rarely get to be so interesting and wise as you do.

    Best luck with everything.

    Like

  2. exileimaging says:

    Congratulations, Evie! It’s been a while since I dropped by, but I’ll try to be more diligent in the future. It’s been 2 years cancer free for me also, but I am always concerned about the blood work, then so relieved when it’s clear. While I still get agitated (mostly about politics), my sense of humor is stronger than ever, and I have a better sense of priorities. Hang in there!

    Like

    • Evie Garone says:

      Hey we can be CF buddies! Congats are in order for you, too then. My Dr. seemed to think it was some sort of milestone. Until I never have to see him again and he says I’m cured, I won’t really relax my diligence. Thanks for the good wishes! I am nothing but optimistic except for some serious grousing about politics, the weather, and whatever seems to be in my craw that day, but it just keeps my blood flowing! I know none of it matters in the “Grand Scheme” of things. It just gives me topics to ruminate about with the people(?) who read my blog! Thanks for visiting! Evie

      Like

  3. stevebetz says:

    Wow — that’s great to hear. Always great to get such wonderful news. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

