What Price Freedom and Privacy?

Slippery slope

Image by 96dpi via Flickr

I wrote a blog last week questioning freedom and the right to post anything you wanted to in your blog if it was the TRUTH. Well of course you can, but should you? I have since learned that is a slippery slope.

You have the freedom to post as long as its not slanderous, etc., but that wasn’t the issue I was covering. I was more interested in the fact of should you pour out your heart with your personal issues, ie. medical, health related, etc. which I then did.

I have since adjusted my thinking, but too late as I do many things in my life, the proverbial cat is “out of the bag”. Since I posted a very personal blog, having just friended some new people on Facebook, I am now wondering if they had read “said” blog and what they think of me, I now wish my timing had been different, or had thought the matter through more first. Perhaps there are some things you should keep to yourself.

So fellow bloggers, maybe you should learn from my mistakes. Think long and hard if you really want to blog any very PERSONAL matters, you may type them to get them off your chest, but contemplate at least 24 hours before PUBLISHING them, perhaps you might just keep them for yourself like a diary. Oh, if only I had done that I wouldn’t have this ooggly feeling in my belly right now.

Oh well, live and learn. You’d think I’d know better by now. Right? I just keep on living, not learning, or should I say I keep relearning…ha, ha, ha!

So people, regret is something you have to live with, and you can’t change some things, so think things out better beforehand than I do. I’m kind of a fly by the seat of my pants kind of girl. But that icky feeling in the pit of my stomach of not knowing if people understand ME, get me with no preconditions, is a burden to carry sometimes and isn’t worth the price of FREEDOM to say what I want. I guess we all want to be loved, accepted and not judged too harshly as we show the world the real, true naked us in all our imperfect splendor.

Just sayin’.

(c) Written by Evelyn Garone 12/2010

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Blogging, esoteric, family, funny, health, Medical, new, Privacy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

