I Want To BE “Junk Drunk” ! #*%

Have you watched American Pickers and Pawn Stars? I love these shows! They remind me of my true love – antiquing. I used to work in my friend’s Antique Store in NJ when I lived there and I truly loved it. I adore the smell of antique stores, the aura, the feel, everything about them. I used to have an old Victorian house that I enjoyed decorating with old things. Not living there anymore I’ve kind of given up the hobby, but when watching these shows, I’m reminded of my old love and I miss it..

After watching American Pickers I just want to go out and search some old barns,  old houses, anywhere there might be some treasures hidden. My girlfriend and I used to do Estate sales and clean outs and we got to be the first ones on the scene to search for the treasures. I know what these guys are talking about when they say they get “Junk Drunk”. If you’ve ever seen American Pickers, you’ll know what I’m talking about when I’m saying junk drunk, its when you’re on the scent of a find, and you can’t lo0k fast enough for a treasure and when your on the scent of it, you are almost high with adrenaline.  Mike, one of the hosts, was doing it on the other episode of ‘Pickers, he was on top of a precarious pile, he fell and didn’t even care, he just kept on climbing. I was laughing out loud. That’s when I heard the term, “Junk Drunk” and decided to take it as my own. I love it!  It’s so much fun if you are into this kind of thing. You get this kind of high, because you get so excited with the anticipation of not knowing what you might find hiding amongst the junk piles.

This viewing has rekindled my interest and I’m now thinking of going out again to Estate and Garage Sales on Friday & Saturday mornings hunting for some of my old loves. They include Kewpie Doll babies, different and pretty paper weights and extra special costume jewelery.

I saw an Antique Roadshow once where a person collected costume jewelery and had a good eye and found some real “gems”, really, also some really good costume jewelery worth some good money. You need to buy what you like though, so you’re not stuck with things, to just drag you down.

I think that might be fun. During the hunt, if I find any other treasures I must have, I can buy and resell on Ebay or UPillar or Craigs List, sounds like fun doesn’t it?

(c) Written by Evelyn Garone 12/2010

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Blogging, funny, interesting, shopping, store, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Want To BE “Junk Drunk” ! #*%

  1. I like searching out tea cups and saucers at garage sales. I recently picked up a blue and white tea cup that looks similar to a style used in the 1995 version of Persuasion.

    Like

    • Evie Garone says:

      Oh, how nice. That sounds great. You never know what you’ll find. I bet you love it.I have a collection of Rosie O’Neill Kewpie Doll Babies & paper weights I have been collecting since childhood I also can add to. So, maybe I’ll start hunting on Friday and Sat. mornings for fun! Good luck on your hunting! Evie

      Like

Leave a Reply

