Do Ya’ Think I’m Sexy…?

Rod Stewart?

He definitely thinks HE'S Sexy!!!

I was in my sweet little ride, my convertible today cruising, listening to my satellite radio, when “Da Ya Think I’m Sexy” by Rod Stewart came on and it got me thinking about ageing, even as I was singing along having a great time, digging the music feeling all good.

My mind jumped to some other songs, how about The WHO with the line “Hope I Die Before I Get Old?” I bet they’re rethinking THAT line now, huh? Even as they keep singing it, because they can’t seem to stop touring. I would guess a little tongue in cheek! Imagine if you were these rockers, and having your past flashed in your face, on the Jumbo Screen, bigger than life, how would you feel? These guys are senior citizens now, so turning on the TV and radio and having to be reminded how their youth has passed must be amazingly hard!

I’m sure the money and fame issues help, but still, the fact of fleeting youth still remains and needs to be dealt with.

I know for myself, I can leave the house feeling good about myself, thinking I don’t look too bad for my age. Get in the car, turn on the tunes, hear some great older ones from the 70’s, 80’s or 90’s start really grooving to them totally forget my age. I feel like a kid, I get lost in the music, but catch myself in the mirror and realize I’m no longer young, like I feel. It’s bittersweet.

But the memories associated with older music is wonderful!  It can take you to another time and place, transport you to a happy or sad occasion, make you laugh or cry.

I guess you are what you feel, so screw the mirror!

(C) Written by Evelyn Garone 12/10/10

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in funny, Humor, Music, radio, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Do Ya’ Think I’m Sexy…?

  1. SURYA says:

    Old is gold…:)

    Like

  2. Evie Garone says:

    Will do, thanks…. Evie

    Like

Leave a Reply

