Rudolph, Frosty & Many Happy Memories ! #%*

Frosty the Snowman (TV program)

Image via Wikipedia

I recently went to Best Buy for some inspiration for Christmas presents and found The Limited Keepsake Edition boxed set of 7 Holiday Favorites including Rudolph the Rednosed Reindeer, Frosty the Snowman, Santa is Coming to Town, Mr. McGoo’s Christmas Carol, The Little Drummer Boy & some others. If that wasn’t enough, I bought another set 10 Classic Christmas Favorites with How The Grinch Stole Christmas!   &  The Year Without A Santa Claus in it because it has the Heat Miser and the Snow Miser and their Mother, Mother Nature in it.

Well, I don’t know about you, but these movies hold an important spot in my memory as a child, and I thought they would in my sons, too. I had to buy them when I saw them. Being a sentimental fool, I thought we’d watch them together as a family and ohhh and ahhh and have some chuckles. Well, I forget what guys are like. My boys did not think this was a great idea. They’ve fought me all the way. My youngest, who’s 18 is not able to admit his softer side and does not want to remember his childhood yet, maybe it’s not far enough removed to want to reenact as mine.

Well, for once I put my foot down and have insisted that every night during this blessed holiday break we are going to share a little time and do what I want and watch a cute family movie together and so far we have. We were tortured through “The Year Without A Santa Claus” with the Heat Miser & Snow Miser as it was very long. I loved it and had tears in my eyes. The boys had a hard time because it was so old fashioned, no real animation, my how times have changed!

We made it through Frosty. That was a pleasant surprise. That was fun all around since it was animated, not those cute dolls that I don’t mind but the boys find so old fashioned. Yes, they are old-fashioned but were the kitcsh of our childhood. Frosty was also short and sweet so the boys were relieved and it made it much more pleasant for all involved, less bitching and moaning along the way.

My husband and I watched Mr. McGoo’s Christmas Carol ourselves before the college break. Thank God, because the boys would not have enjoyed that one either and it was my husband’s favorite as he was growing up, so we saw it together and enjoyed it immensely.

So wish me luck on my endeavors on the rest of my Christmas viewing, it is with a childlike heart I am attacking the pile of DVD‘s I still have to watch and I am not going to let anyone diminish my enthusiasm and viewing pleasure, the boys are along for the ride or they can leave the room, I have my tissues and my heart on my sleeve.

(C) Written by Evelyn Garone 12/2010

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in esoteric, family, funny, interesting, TV, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rudolph, Frosty & Many Happy Memories ! #%*

  1. Pingback: Memories Are Made of This | Thoughts Of A Layman

  2. Evie Garone says:

    Ahh, You are too kind, thank you ! May you also receive all you desire!! Evie

    Like

  3. SURYA says:

    Thank you evie…:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

