About the NOOK!

Library at the De La Salle College of Saint Be...

Image via Wikipedia

I don’t want to ‘dis the NOOK, it is really a fabulous little invention! It’s really ME! That’s right, I’m admitting it. I know my son showed me the whole magilla,  all the steps on how to download the books from the library and I swear I was paying attention, but I have no recall. Either that or nothing works the same way again, after he leaves, I swear!

The reason I like the whole idea of the downloading of books from the library is that the books are FREE and at the rate I read it is an extremely good idea otherwise I can’t imagine the amount of money I would rack up buying books. I usually go through a book in a day or two, so at $9.99 a pop imagine how easily it would add up to a small fortune before you even realized it? So, trying to download the books from the library sounds like such a good idea…yeah, in my head. Too bad I can’t get it to work.

Yesterday I wrote a blog about how inept and technologically challenged I am. Well, thank goodness my son happened to read my blog and he said he’ll help me! Yay! So, now the thing is waiting for him. Hmmmmm…. we’ll see WHEN he get’s here, how long I’ll be jonesing for a book, without trying to rush him over here, it’s so hard being a Mother without being a pain in the ass, too!

Anyway, he did say he’ll help me & even make me a video to show me HOW to do this process…he’s a treasure…. it must be a trial dealing with a “technologically challenged” needy Mother!

Other than that I enjoy reading the NOOK and I am getting used to the use of the rest of it.

If anyone else received it for Christmas, let me know how you like it.

(C) Written by Evelyn Garone 12/2010

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Books, family, funny, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to About the NOOK!

  1. Mike Corbo says:

    Love my nook, had it for over a year now and have not actually bought a book for it about 9 months and have not bought a paper book since I got my nook (his name is nookiemac).

    Since Christmas though, it seems our libaries ebook lending system has been overwhelmed with requests. We can check out 5 books at one time (21 day maximum check out) and be on a waitlist list for an additional 7. Some of my current waitlists are 100 out of 107, granted the library has 16 copies of the book, so with a 21 day checkout period that makes the wait about 4 months is everyone keeps it for 21 days. It seems that that most of my waits are in the 3-4 month range!

    Remember to “return” your book in Digital Editions to release it to someone else on the list!

    I have taken to checking daily for new releases so I can get on the waitlist early!

    They are good about adding books not in ther catalog if you ask them to.

    Got Sue one for christmas, she was hesitant at first, but loves it now. Found that in order to get the same library book on both nooks, she has to have her own copy of Adobe Digital Editions on the PC under her user name.

    Like

    • Evie Garone says:

      Wow, that sounds like a lot of work & problems. What a shame. It’s still better than buying books…Danee helps me with the downloading when he comes over to visit…I get the concept of the procuring and downloading from the library but I have a little trouble with the last step or two of the actual getting the book from the laptop to the nook. We’re allowed 10 books for 21 days which is awesome for me, with not working, just writing and healing I have plenty of time to read and I’m a voracious reader! We always return my books! Tell Sue we say hi, & to send me a message or call me. Take Care …Great to hear from you! Evie

      Like

Leave a Reply

