Kill My Mother-In-Law, Please!

Pre-war Bayer heroin bottle, originally contai...

Image via Wikipedia

So, my husband came home from work today with a few good stories… I love when he does! It makes life much more interesting…what follows is one of the stories in the news. . .

There was a strung-out heroin addict who needed money and decided to break into his mother-in-laws house for her jewelery for a much needed drug fix. As he was in the middle of the burglary the old lady caught him so he grabbed her and choked her to death.

He was caught by police, confessed, was sentenced to 25 years in prison and is now serving his term. In the mean time his 23 year old heroin addicted wife, the beneficiary of her murdered mother’s $500,000 estate died of a drug overdose. He, the husband, as the surviving heir was supposed to receive the money as the beneficiary and plans to use $250,000 towards lawyer fees to appeal the sentence. How ironic.

The law says you can not benefit from the ill gotten gains of a crime for your defense, however a murder victims money would be used for his defense in this case in a round about way since it was through his wife’s death! It is a sticky wicket! I am against him getting this money and using it for his defense, imagine this poor murdered woman and her daughter turning in their graves…it is probably part of the reason the daughter, (his wife) OD’d in the first place…part of the guilt of her drug problem and her bringing her creepy murdering addicted husband home to her mother’s house could be why she decided to kill herself and join her mother in the grave. I doubt she would ever want the man guilty of both her and her mother’s deaths going scott free. What do you think? Hmmm. . .

The state has stepped in and is trying to prevent him from receiving the inherited money saying that it WOULD be ill gotten. So the lawyers are trying to say if he received the money as a third party, through the wife’s death, it really isn’t against the law. (It’s splitting hairs!)  So now they are willing to cut a deal that if the courts will shorten his sentence they will forgo the money. Nice, two womens deaths on your conscience and you get a shorter sentence. Works for me, how about you? NOT! Unbelievable. . . lawyers have no shame and will settle anything for their clients no matter how reprehensible!

This is a crazy world we live in. I don’t know about you, but I’m really starting to think the law is being twisted and it’s a damn shame.

I happened to have loved my Mother-in-law dearly, so this title was just a joke. We lost her 3 years ago and it was a catastrophe so it hits a little too close to home and I am not amused. It just shows what a joke our laws are becoming! There is no way this criminal should get any money, any reduced sentence, anything but justice, which is as much time for his guilt of killing the woman for his nefarious reasons of greed for drug use and disregard for human life!

(C) Written by Evelyn Garone 1/2011

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Blogging, family, interesting, politics, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Kill My Mother-In-Law, Please!

  1. Thanks for this post. I eventually agree with what you are saying. I have been talking about this subject a lot lately with my father so maybe this will get him to see my point of view. Fingers crossed!

    Like

    • Evie Garone says:

      Well, what is your point of view, I think the man should stay in jail & get no money! What is your Dad’s? I wish you both luck on peace on the matter!! Thank you for stopping by and reading. Evie

      Like

  2. ozonator apa says:

    I noticed you don’t have a twitter icon on your blog, you should get one so that more people will know you exist.

    Like

Leave a Reply

