Maybe the END Of The Shoulder Saga?! #*@

Shoulder arthroscopy in progress.

Image via Wikipedia

I had my appointment today with Dr. Matthew Hansen whom I liked very much. He had a wonderful bedside manner, was very informative and was thorough. He has suggested surgery as I had pretty much acknowledged to myself was going to be the case.

As they took X-rays right there and we analyzed them in the office, we decided together that there really is no other sensible recourse as the labrum is ripped or even almost nonexistent.

So arthroscopic surgery seems to be the way to go. Now it is all just the organizational hooha to be gone through. Now I have to get an MRI done, where the Dr. wants it done, if the Insurance company will OK it there and try to get it somewhere semi-close to my house. Then to call the Dr.’s scheduling nurse to schedule the actual surgery ASAP. When I find out that date, I have to call my Primary Care Physician and get an EKG, blood work, and some other lab work before the surgery, but not TOO soon. Amazing. No nurses help, you have to do all the booking yourself, but you can’t do any of it too soon, not too late. As if you have any idea what the HELL you are doing, since some is LAB work…OK, no problem…

I can do it, because I am the QUEEN of multitasking . . .that’s WHAT I do. . . so when people ask if I work Hell, yes I do, just organizing my life is work, I know other people do too, but GOD Bless them, they must be even better than me!

So ANYWAY, I digress, after the operation I will need to take it easy at least 4 – 6 weeks, wear a sling like now, hmmm, I hate that it really hurts my neck, then do physical therapy for a while then rehab for 9 months, no working out! Damn! I was just kicking myself for not getting in the swing of working out, I guess now I won’t have to blame it on myself, I can blame it on my shoulder.

I am really happy that I will be fixing the “trick” shoulder, just a little sad to hear that I will be losing a little mobility, I will never be quite the same! I guess the price of losing a little mobility for being able to count on my shoulder’s  strength and dependability is worth it.

So, that’s the saga of the shoulder. Hopefully after this operation there will be no more shoulder dislocations! Yay!

(C) Written by Evelyn Garone 1/2011

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Blogging, family, health, Medical, Sports, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Maybe the END Of The Shoulder Saga?! #*@

  1. jackie says:

    Excellent girl…keep me posted! Lu

    Like

Leave a Reply

