I am so NOT a Good Patient!

Meds

What, where, I don't know....

Waaaa! I hate this whole recuperating thing, really. You’re not supposed to do ANYTHING, but sit and get better. I can’t GET comfortable to sit and relax. Yeah, that might work in the hospital but at home there are so many distractions, so many things to DO. I can’t stand just sitting…it makes me crazy, and the meds do not mellow me out, I think they have the reverse affect and make me a little hyper, like I should be pulling my weight. I emptied the dishwasher, put in a load of laundry, and I HAD to type a blog which is so much fun onehanded… My husband can’t DO everything…he’s actually doing a great job of trying to take care of me, but men aren’t naturally nurturing so he does not anticipate. Then when I have to ask him for pillows, blankets, etc. I just find its easier if I get them for myself half the time. I can’t always verbalize what I need because I’m uncomfortable that I don’t even know what I want or need…so I just have to keep trying things and I don’t want him to think I’m being the ”Princess and the Pea” even if I AM.

On a lighter note, we’re on day 3 so things should start getting better, RIGHT? Please dear God and everything that is holy SAY IT IS SO, because I am not enjoying this…

He did go clothes shopping for me because I need button down or zipper only, so he can help me put my poor dilapidated arm in something before the sling. I was very worried what he’d come home with…lumberjack flannel shirts? I was shuddering in horror, my imagination doing double time, but Mr. Wonderful came home with some very stylish cardigans, a very pretty designer zip-up sweatshirt like blouse, and these very cool cape-like sweaters to go over the whole contraption that is my giant Smart Sling to protect me from myself & others! He is truly my knight in shining Armor!

(c) written by Evelyn Garone 1/2011

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in clothes, family, Fashion, funny, interesting, Medical, new, shopping, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

