Is It All About The Pink Ribbons & Walks ?

pink for the cure

Believe me I love PINK!

Do you think all these Walks for The Cures For ____ (whatever), you fill in the blank, or all the Ribbons and bracelets— there are all the colors of the rainbow now, unfortunately diminishes the true worth of the original causes? Does any money really trickle down to help the individual or illness? I don’t know if people can even differentiate what color is for what illness anymore. I don’t mean to sound so tough or cold hearted it’s just that I can’t keep up with it all and I don’t want to, it’s freaking exhausting. Now don’t get me wrong, I have just as much sympathy, empathy and willingness to donate to a good charity as the next guy but I’ll pick my own charity Thank You very much! I just do not think that bringing publicity to a cause by having people wear a ribbon or bracelet or begging for money is necessarily the way to go. I do not know if I think organizing a “Big” walk is the way to go either. I have heard some background chatter that a lot of the money meant to go to research and cures is actually spent on all the salaries of big executives not the “cure”. So before you give blindly to a charity, make sure your money is REALLY going where it’s supposed to be going, don’t just assume it’s a good cause because it’s a big name and give blindly!!! Buying a bracelet doesn’t mean you’re helping the cause! It just is your little banner to prove you care, but follow the money…

Believe me, I love PINK, I have had breast cancer, but I do NOT do THE WALK! I was too sick to walk. I have heard negative things about the Susan G. Komen cause. I believe you are supposed to raise a minimum amount of donors to sign before you are even allowed to walk, about 20 (equaling about a minimum of $20,000) I don’t even know if the money goes where it was originally meant to go, does it really help the women with the big “C”? It was a nice grass roots cause formed for a woman who died of breast cancer, but it has turned into a giant bureaucratic red tape machine that may have changed and I don’t appreciate people just assuming I should take place in “The Walk” because I was sick with breast cancer. It should be a personal choice. My choice. If it is yours, great, have at it, but make an informed decision, and don’t assume everyone who’s had breast cancer should now be a Susan G. Komen disciple, ain’t happenin’.

So before you ask a personal question, maybe you should know of what you speak, or better yet, don’t ask very personal questions in the first place…

(C) Written by Evelyn Garone 2/2011

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Blogging, esoteric, Etiquette, family, health, Insurance, interesting, Medical, Politically Correct, politics, Uncategorized, Women Groups and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

