But, but I NEED My Pain Meds…

Illustration of the pain pathway in René Desca...

Right to my shoulder & HEAD!!!!

I have been so good trying to space my meds far enough apart, not eating them like candy, but I find I really DO need them to get through the worst of the post op pain.

Last night I realized to my chagrin/annoyance/nervousness that I only had 5 pills left to last me until Monday! Oh My! That will never do…I’m supposed to take 1 to 2 every 4 hrs. for pain. I can stretch it out, but I need at least 4 a day. I decided I’d call the Dr. immediately in the morning…well, morning is relative to me in my broken state. At the crack of noon when I finally rolled out of my so comfortable sitting nest, I called the office.

1. All of the Drs. may have left the office for “surgery” code word Friday afternoon flight from the office? So no one is there to write a ‘script…(prescription)

2. The medicine is a narcotic so thus the ‘script must be physically picked up (30 minutes away) if they can even find someone to write it. They’ll call me back. Oh please, they know I just had surgery they did it, why can’t they call it into my pharmacy, the drugs themselves will be physically picked up by my husband like the last prescription was. The phone call between an acknowledged and licensed pharmacy & Dr. is probably safer than a random pick up of the written ‘script, more steps . To pick up the prescription, all you have to have is a photo ID, hmmm, seems safer to call it in to the pharmacy, but what the hell do I know? Oh, that’s right, the Gov’t. has gotten involved, nuff said…

So in others words, they want to help me, but can’t. Gotta love bureaucracy…

So hello PAIN….

(c) Written by Evelyn Garone 2/2011

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Driving, funny, health, interesting, Medical, new, Science, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

