Pondering Physical Therapy

Spc. Jlynn Johnson (right), U.S. Army Health C...

Image via Wikipedia

As I’m homebound recuperating from my shoulder surgery I have good days and bad days, the good days far outweighing the bad.  Thank God at this point in the healing process I’ve pretty much weaned myself off the pain meds, wouldn’t want to get addicted, now would I? That would just be another problem to deal with, but there are times like today, when I believe I’ve done a little too much and the arm really hurts, when I think I better take a half a tablet just to curtail the pain so I can actually relax again and sit and chill, maybe take a nap to help the healing process along. I’m not going to be a Super Hero.

I’m getting fed up with the relaxing, after all there are only so many books you can read. There is only so much sitting around you can do before your rear end actually gets tired. Right now I’m listening to the symphony of my neighbors dogs barking which has been going on for a serious constant 30 minutes. How they live with that is beyond me, but to not realize what they are so kindly sharing with all and sundry in the neighborhood is just audacious.

I’ve slept so much, at odd hours, if there was a sleep bank, I could go sleepless for about a month no problem, which would be so cool. When this is all over, I could get so much done with no sleep, it would be amazing, too bad it doesn’t work that way!

I’ve walked miles in and around my house and redecorated in my head, but unfortunately, I can’t implement the changes, because I can’t move the knick knacks I’ve decided would make such a big difference.

To be one-handed is really quite the handicap that I never could have imagined. You don’t realize it until it happens to you, but even a little thing like washing your hands, or your face turns into a big deal. Trying to pour cereal and the big gallon of milk is hopeless, as for pouring the dry cat food, he gets more than he ever bargained for around his dish!

I’m waiting for my next appointment now, on Monday the 7th to find out if hopefully I can move on to physical therapy, which I imagine will be the next step in my recovery. I’m sure it will be painful, but definitely in this case, no pain no gain. I will have to hurt my way to learn to use all of the muscles again. I’m not overly looking forward to this, I’m sure there will be tears, but it’s better than this interminable waiting period. I need to move on with my life. I need to get out there and live again!

Today is my youngest boys 19th birthday and I wasn’t even able to get out there to go shopping for a present & card. I’m lucky he’s away at school, so I haven’t seen him yet anyway, it’s just a weird feeling. He’ll be home this weekend and we’ll take him out to dinner and shopping for his present, it’s just different…

Anyway, I’m on the road to recovery, getting better everyday! Yay! Sorry if I sound like a baby, it’s just getting old!

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Books, funny, health, interesting, Medical, new, shopping, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

