Ahhh, Beautiful Arizona!

Sunset Over Bandstand, Mumbai

Oh Arizona I LOVE you!

Today as I sit in my beautiful backyard enjoying the 80 degree sunshine I remember why we moved here…it is so lovely. The resort like setting of my yard is very restful and quite tropical. There are palm trees blowing in the breeze, we can pick our own lemons and oranges off our trees. Mountain views from my kitchen & master suite  and drop-dead sunsets from my front windows are a few things to get used to here in the desert! Quite a difference from the NJ setting I am used to. When we first moved here, I once remarked, to my annoyance, because I’ve never lived the remark down,  “Wow, we’ve moved up in the world!” Well, mothers choose your words wisely, because I forgot for a minute the microscope that is my life, for the little pitchers were listening, that’s right, the children. That comment has been repeated, so many times back at me that I wish I could rewind that moment in time and choose my words more much more carefully!

I never meant it to sound snotty, or stuck up. I meant it as a statement of fact, as a coming of age to my 40’s and as a compliment to my husband that we had “arrived.”

We left NJ, we had a perfectly nice house, but it had been our first house, that we bought with our savings, we stretched ourselves, it was our dream house at the time and I don’t miss it. It was a fixer-upper…a wonderful Victorian that needed much TLC that we provided ourselves. We put a lot of our own blood, sweat and tears into it. We loved that house dearly. But, as we grew older I was kind of done with the work, I wasn’t finding the door knobs that didn’t turn and the windows hard to open charming anymore. Now, the work really was work. The labor of love was just labor. The hard-driving snowy winters were no longer fun-filled watching the children play, they were just another chore to be gotten through. When my husband’s promotion and transfer to Arizona came up I was on the next plane. See ya’ NJ.

When we were selling at the height of the market and found that our hard work had paid off and our 100 yr.+ house was going to buy us a 14 yr. old home with many amenities, and no heartaches and headaches like an old historical house, there was no looking back! Thus my innocuous comment was uttered in an offhanded way that children couldn’t understand.

They are not the ones who had to do the laundry down in the stone basement with dangerous rickety stairs, where now I have a very nice laundry room right off my kitchen. If I’m not doing a load at any given time, there is something wrong. I love laundry now, it is a pleasure. We had a pool in NJ, but now I also have a hot tub and a pool man. Conveniences like that are what I meant by my comment. I have outside speakers, shaped like rocks so I can listen to my Flute music as I chill by the pool, or as I sit here typing this blog. Life is good. I really don’t miss NJ, just a few friends and family! But there are planes for visits!!!

Written by Evelyn Garone 3/2011

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Blogging, esoteric, family, Home Improvement, Home Repair, interesting, new, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ahhh, Beautiful Arizona!

  1. Congratulations on your new house! Sounds well deserved. And yes, kids repeat everything. It never fails to surprise me. Oh, and thanks for the reminder, I should go check my own washing machine! I try not to worry about the children repeating what I say, as so often they make things up that I said anyway! Such as, “Daddy, Mommy said we could have cookies for dinner!”

    Like

    • Evie Garone says:

      Kids do say the darnedest things,no matter how old they are don’t they?!Thanks for the Congrats on the house, it’s been a few years we’ve been here, but I try not to take things for granted…take care and have fun with YOUR laundry! Ha, Ha! Evie

      Like

Leave a Reply

