Insomnia Again. . . So a News Update

Wow, this not sleeping is getting old. I had physical therapy again today and they worked me hard today. I went 3 times this week, and I don’t know if it was too much or just a lot but tonight, or should I say this morning as it’s 2:50 am but I’m in a lot of pain and just can’t get comfortable. I’m trying to distract myself with late night TV and I found Suze Orman on. She’s kind of funny with the snarky comments she makes and her animated faces. She calls the females “Girlfriend” and young guys ‘Boyfriend” which is pretty amusing. In between, the commercials on latenight TV are kind of creepy. I just saw a little razor called Micro Touch Max, which showed people shaving hairy men’s chests. Eeewwwwww! Is that really necessary?

I have been laying down trying to sleep for an hour or 3 and finally couldn’t do it anymore.I was just sooo uncomfortable. So, my favorite respite is my computer and blogging. I figure eventually I’ll get down some pithy ideas (?) hopefully and maybe get sleepy. Or at least let my pain meds. start to kick in so the throbbing pain lessens and I might be able to close my eyes and be able to drift off. As I said, I’ve given it a good try tonight and its not happening. There are no skeletons in my closet, I have taken care of all the matters I can think of I needed to do, all the cards I needed to mail, all the matters I needed to take care of, so it’s not guilt. It’s just good old-fashioned pain. Yay!

So, now I can watch the news about Libya and worry about this news and think about the worst case scenario of our Gov’t. ever putting boots on the ground. Where are we going to get the troops from? Are we ever going to have to reinstate the draft? I have two sons who are 19 & 21 …I hate to not be Patriotic, but I really wouldn’t want my boys to have to go to a war I don’t believe in. I don’t understand the movement in Libya. If it’s really because of the innocent civilians being killed there, there were many other countries where civilians were being slaughtered, so where do we draw the line, or where and when do we make the choice to pick which situation to get involved in? That’s my conundrum…I’m confused and I don’t think we can get involved in EVERY situation where we see this problem. If we did we’d be in Darfur, Bahrain, Iran, Yemen, Oman and so many other places too.

Insomnia is a serious problem. I am lucky enough to be able to stay home and sleep whenever I can finally sleep. So, if I finally am able to catch some shut eye later today, that’s what I do. I just go to sleep whenever I can. I’m not working so if I’m able to finally fall asleep at 7:00 am and sleep ’till 11:00 that’s what I do.

Unfortunately, you hear what goes on around the country in serious sleep deprived situations and it’s scary. There was just a highly reported situation of an Airport Traffic Controller who fell asleep on his watch and wasn’t able to help two planes land because he fell asleep on his watch. The pilots of the planes just landed their planes themselves and the man has only been suspended which is surprising. Isn’t that letting him off a little too lightly? He totally failed at his job and put many lives in jeopardy, perhaps the price to pay for him should mirror the seriousness of the mistake a little more closely?

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Blogging, death, financial, new, News, politics, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

