I’m Glad Osama Bin Laden Is Dead. . .

I just don’t know if I feel any safer today since Bin Laden is dead. I may feel better since revenge is sweet, but is the war against terrorism any better off I wonder?  Do you think Al Qaeda’s cause will catch more fervor by their more militant members now that one of their leaders has been killed?

It is great that the US military has gathered intelligence at the Bin Laden Compound, but why did the US bury the body at sea? That I don’t get. And why with respect? Why not keep the body for proof? I have not seen the pictures of the “dead” Bin Laden, the actual body with bullets holes in it. I’ll pass on the very gory photos.

I believe we must stay vigilant, the war on terror is never over. Security on air travel may be even more stringent, with worry over retaliatory moves by terrorists since the death of such a strong terrorist.

I wouldn’t have been caught in the celebrations that broke out spontaneously, I’m not that type of person celebrating over death, no matter who’s.  Are we any better than other blood thirsty countries we complain of ….it’s awful to celebrate by partying in the street after hearing of the killing of a “death monger”? I understand the sentiment of the people, many Americans celebrating, spontaneously singing the National Anthem and waving flags, with many people being scarred by 9/11 but I like to believe that we as Americans are BETTER and bigger than others, or should try to be.

So, I hope people remember just one arm of the serpent has been cut, and our men and women of the military are still in harm’s way. Celebrating too early could be to our own detriment, the evil is still out there, waiting!

I also hope it is remembered that some of that INTEL came from good old GITMO, yeah, the jail Obama wanted to close. . . .remember that? Also, how did they get that info? I’m sure it wasn’t from just asking nicely. . .do you remember how everyone in this administration was originally against waterboarding and other means of tough “questioning”? Hmmmm, amazing how Obama and his administration are flipping now that his numbers are so negative. . .do you think any of this has to do with him wanting to be re-elected? I hate to turn this to politics, but if the shoe fits? I will give the President and the military kudos for getting Bin Laden, it’s great, but the timing couldn’t be BETTER for Obama and his re-election campaign…don’t fool yourself!

I HATE to say it but Obama may have just aced the 2012 Presidency! Damn!

© Evelyn Garone 5/2011

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Blogging, death, Men, new, News, Obama, politics, TV, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m Glad Osama Bin Laden Is Dead. . .

  1. rlm4136 says:

    Thanks for the link to my blog. I appreciate your point of view and the flare that gives you passion to write.

    Best Wishes,

    Ronnie

    Like

Leave a Reply

