AMERICAN Idol Update From Last Night 5/4…This Is Not A Spoiler . . .

I enjoyed Haley’s singing, I was just so annoyed at Jimmy Iovine and his “fabulous” advice to poor Haley to sing Lady Gaga’s unknown song, “You and I”. What the hell was he thinking, I thought he was the expert? . . .perhaps after Haley has made a name for herself people would want to hear an unknown song, but at this time in the competition, it is so important to sing something relevant and something familiar to people so they can “groove” on it.  This being said I also did not know Jame’s first song and did not love that anymore than Haley’s but the judges seem to be having a blind love affair with James. I usually do, too, but fair is fair.

I personally did not love either song by Jacob Lusk and feel he should be the one cut.

I didn’t love bubbly young Lauren Alaina’s first country song . . .her version of “Unchained Melody” was much better, but I still don’t feel her, she’s not the one for me . . . she needs a little seasoning, a little time.

I loved Scott McCreery’s two songs, and I am not a country fan. I thought he “owned” the stage and the audience were in the palm of this hand with his first song and stage dancing. He was fantastic. His second song was good, not great in my opinion, but he far outdid everyone else in his continuity for the night.

I loved, loved, loved Haley and James second songs. Haley needs to sing more songs with the depth of feeling that she sang “House of the Rising Sun” by the Animals. It was beautiful and haunting. James rendition of  “Without You” was beautiful. It may not have been technically perfect but the emotion felt by all was incredible.

I’m hoping America agrees with me and either Jacob or Lauren goes home tonight.

I am in Arizona, so I have to wait a few extra hours for results, I like to watch our version LIVE. . .

So stay tuned and we’ll all see . . .

Written by Evelyn Garone 5/2011

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in American Idol, Blogging, interesting, Music, new, News, TV, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

