AMERICAN IDOL — Almost The Last Show Before the Finale …Who’ll Be the Final Two??

I just finished watching the DVR’d show of Wednesday night’s show — it was terrific! I loved seeing the evolution of the final 3 contestants singing through their 3 songs.

Question though, I like Beyonce, but was she really there to “help” guide the young IDOLs, or “hawk” her new Music Video? Did she really advise the kids?? How about help on song  choice. . . we know (diplomatically) she was questioning Haley’s Led Zeppelin choice, but did she say anything, NO!? And how about some help on wardrobe choice, what were they thinking with Lauren’s old blue “promlike” dress? Where did they dig that up? Or Lauren’s red, white and blue cowgirl outfit?

It was interesting to see the Idol’s own choices, Jimmy Iovine’s & then the judges. I thought all three, Scotty McCreery, Lauren Alaina and Haley Reinhart did great as a whole. This whole contest must be amazingly daunting!

I couldn’t believe Haley fell as she was coming back up the stairs in front of the judges as she sang her first song. I think I’m really in her camp. I do believe she was a real trooper, she quickly got up and kept on singing as if nothing happened and the judges gave that round to her! She was unbelievable as she sang the Led Zeppelin song “What Is and What Should Never Be” which was a ballsy move in the first place. She is a chick rocker and I give her props for being different and innovative as the night proved. The judges picked the Alanis Morissett song for her so if people are confused by her genre, it’s really not her fault. I thought her version of Stevie Nicks “Rhiannon” was beautiful, the wind machine, her dress and all. After all, isn’t that the female version of everything that James Durbin and Adam Lambert were doing that everybody thought was so “groundbreaking” and artsy! Go Haley!~

Scotty and his eyebrows are getting old. He is good, don’t get me wrong, but his hamming for the camera and facial expressions are a little over the top. I thought his first song, by Lonestar was good, I think I enjoyed that the most out of the three. The next song picked by Jimmy was “Are You Gonna Kiss Me Or Not” was okay, but I did not love his version of Kenny Rogers “I Believe In You”. I think Scotty is good, he has a loyal fan base, but he really doesn’t DO anything very different EVER!

As for Lauren Alaina’s songs I thought her choice was okay. I thought that Jimmy’s choice “If I Die Young” was only okay for me and as for the judges choice, “I Hope You Dance” was only okay, too. I didn’t think she brought anything new to the songs. She just didn’t do it for me. I actually liked her better last week than this week.

I don’t know who’s going to be the final 2, but I really hope HALEY makes it!!! We’ll see!

(C) Written by Evelyn Garone 5/2011

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in American Idol, Blogging, clothes, interesting, new, News, TV, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

