Does The Media MAKE The News Not Just Report IT?

Hey, how’s that economy? Have you heard much about it lately? No, of course not, because it’s not scintillating enough. Weinergate has kind of eclipsed it. The stock-market has tanked and we’re not hearing enough about that either. Obama must be thrilled that the negative attention is off him. Arnold Schwarzenegger must be thanking his lucky stars that Weiner came along and stole the spotlight of shame. Arnold’s sleazy story about having a child out of wedlock with his family’s maid 13 yrs. ago at the same time his wife was pregnant just about disappeared because of Weiner the Twitter slime.

I think the Media as a whole has decided what we should hear and see and that’s what we do hear ad naseum. . . .like the Caylee Anthony Trial. I DO feel sympathy and empathy for the poor dead child, but I DO NOT want to hear about the sensationalized case 24/7 . . . I just CAN’T, it’s too much, too tragic and we’ll never hear the real truth, how do we KNOW what the truth is? Do we NEED to know ALL the gory details? I don’t. I can’t, I can’t bear it, I cannot hear it over and over again, it’s all supposition, it’s all for headlines for the NEWS Media themselves for the 24 hr. news cycle they must fill. Puuleeeaazzzzzzzze! I just can’t… NO more. It’s pure depravity!

Take Anthony Weiner . . .please do! I’ve had enough of him, but he is the gift that keeps on giving for the media because he never saw a microphone or camera he didn’t like. And he can’t say the right thing. He just trips over his words, but I guess it’s hard not to when you are so guilty of such stupidity. I believe his Crisis Management Counselor must have told him to take a leave of absence and go to rehab for his “sexual” problems, while this whole mess blows over. . . really? I think not, that shouldn’t work and solve the original problem. Even my fave, Ms. Pelosi had the sense to “suggest” he resign. “Hello Constituents of New York,  are you serious when you voted and said 56% of you are still okay with him in office?” Maybe with the media still digging,  having found that he’s driving around with an expired Vanity license plate, about 2 yrs. out of date on the wrong vehicle you’ll rethink that decision realizing he’s a sociopath ? I sure hope so. I think we should hold our Congresspeople to a HIGHER standard than this kind of trashy Twitter sleaze, but maybe that’s just me. And how amusing that Mr. Weiner called ex-President Clinton to apologize, talk about the pot calling the kettle black, hm? Maybe he just shared the girls names from his little black book. (Oh Evie, stop that’s just snarky )

Sarah Palin is just doing her thing, roaming the country spreading THE Word of Freedom in her bus. She doesn’t necessarily LOOK for media attention, but whenever she opens her mouth the media is there to report what she says, to supposedly tell us what a “fool” she is. Her name is now a household word. Perhaps if they (the Media) didn’t give her so much face time she wouldn’t be such a big name. But are they playing into politics? Are they trying to get her to run for President? Do they think she’ll lose to Obama, so they are pushing her forward? I do BELIEVE in conspiracies! Every word she says is NOT news and shouldn’t be but they make it SO! Did we need to see and hear all her e-mails, to look for something off-color? 24,000 pages of e-mails of hers were scrutinized and there was nothing anybody could find anything wrong with except that she was trying to run for Vice-President obviously, too bad for all the haters!

That’s all for now. . .but is that all that was really going on in the whole wide world?Sad, but I doubt it.

(C) Written by Evelyn Garone 6/2011

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Anti-Obama, interesting, Media, new, News, Obama, politics, Twitter, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Does The Media MAKE The News Not Just Report IT?

  1. stevebetz says:

    I think the media — especially the television “news” follows one thing: money. That’s why you see different outlets leaning one way of the other politically — they’re searching for viewer sets and demographics to entice advertisers. They find out what people are interested in from emails, comments, “clicks” and “likes” and present more of that programming.

    If more people cared about the economy, jobs, immigration or foreign affairs more than they cared about Arnold’s illegitimate children, or Weiner’s weiner, or Palin’s latest stop, then that’s what we’d see. I don’t think we have anyone to blame but our collective selves.

    Like

    • Evie Garone says:

      You are probably right, everything is about money. I just find it a sad commentary on America’s lust for soap opera-like News or Jerry Springer-esque news. Maybe it’s just me? I would really like to see what EFFECTS me day to day, perhaps this is why the economy IS so bad and the Politicians do spend like drunken sailors…How does the President get away with saying a comment about “Shovel Ready was not as Shovel ready as we thought!” as a joke. It’s nothing to joke about! Evie

      Like

  2. I think the media would love to see Palin on the Republican ticket for two reasons.
    Number one, they’ve gone to great lengths to attack Palin and her family giving every indication they truly enjoy doing so.
    And number two, they’re fully convinced she could never beat Obama which is exactly they type of contender the media wants to see on the Republican ticket.

    Personally I’d love to see Bachman win the Republican primary as it would be hysterical to watch the media stepping all over themselves as they attempt the same character assasination techniques they used on Palin, while trying to not appear sexist.

    Like

    • Evie Garone says:

      I do like Bachmann and it would be funny to see if the media could get away without appearing sexist if she was the Republican candidate as they ripped her apart . . . Again thanks for reading…Evie

      Like

Leave a Reply

