The “Clown-Arounds” Go Out To Dinner

There is a book I used to read to my two boys when they were young called “The Clown-Arounds Go On Vacation” that was about a clown family going on vacation and all the silly shenanigans that ensued. My family and I always related to them because whenever we’re together something unusual or unfortunate happens, it’s just the ways it is with us . . . I do not know if I’m the catalyst or it’s the mix of us together, but we’ve kind of gotten used to it and expect “something” to happen.

Going out to dinner is no different for us, usually some shenanigan ensues. Now don’t get me wrong not every time, but a lot. Take last night at Shula’s Steak House at Wild Horse Pass where we decided to celebrate our older son’s 22nd birthday. If you’ve never been there, their claim to fame is the printed steak menu on a real Football that they bring to your table and insist sitting on a tee in the way of everything you are doing at the all-ready too small table. I’m sure you know how that is. . . the table is set with wine glasses we don’t use, water glasses, plus drink glasses, full settings of silverware, bread dishes, breadbasket, butter-dish, happy birthday placard, (only the necessities) and the football menu (full-size on tee on MY plate) needless to say, just an accident waiting to happen.

As we’re having a good time chatting, telling stories, laughing, the birthday boy and I insist asking 101 questions so we understand every little detail of every story, we drive my husband and my other son nuts. During one of the stories, I was actually “right” about some point or other, and in my family that is tantamount to scoring a basket, so I was busy high-fiving my younger son. On the end of my unfortunate celebratory high-five, I hit the damn football off the tee, it teetered and tumbled, knocked over a glass of water all over the “birthday boy”, into his lap, into his hat in his lap. Happy Birthday love Mom!

I have to say, the service in this restaurant was fabulous, they were at the table in seconds, whooshing away the mess. The look on my son’s face was priceless! Oh, my God did I feel terrible! The only thing that saved the dinner, is we hadn’t been served any food yet, so nothing was ruined, the serving staff cleaned it within seconds, no muss no fuss, and since it was only water, it wasn’t sticky and didn’t ruin his hat. Having the hat in his lap actually saved his pants from being embarrassingly wet, the hat caught all the ice and water. And thanks to the immediacy of my faux pas, no one could blame it on my consumption of alcohol, this was all ME and my natural grace!

The birthday boy ran off to the Men’s room, cleaned up, but it was quite a scene, and needless to say, I won’t be able to live this one down. It will be a memorable dinner that we talk about for years at MY expense. There is nothing like making memories!

© Evelyn Garone 6/2011

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Books, family, funny, Humor, Men, new, Parenting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

