Excuse me, I can’t hear you, My TV’s ON!!

As far as I know on Wednesday, December 2, 2010 President Obama signed into law the “Commercial Advertisement Loudness Mitigation” or “CALM Act.” A press release from the White House states the law “requires the Federal Communications Commission to prescribe a regulation limiting the volume of audio on commercials transmitted by television broadcast stations, cable operators, and other multichannel video programming distributors.”

Since then we’re still waiting for this bit of legislation to take place. It seems, the FCC has given the Cable and satellite companies 1 year, until December 15, 2011 to get their act together. I don’t know about you but I can’t wait for this day . . . I have been scared out of my wits when watching a nice show and some of those “fabulous” car commercials or lawyers start screaming at me at the top of their lungs! It’s unnerving! God forbid you start nodding off while watching TV at night and one of these screaming commercials pops on and has you so startled you fall onto the floor with surprise! It should be criminal, thank God the President has intervened! I’m just waiting with bated breath for it to actually kick in and CALM us down!

It can’t just be my husband and me, but either we can’t hear the show we’re watching from turning the commercials down, (unless I’m getting deaf, EH?)  because it’s so obvious the commercials are so damn loud. What also is a lot of fun, I swear, is that with this surround sound and stereo TV now, you have to have the TV so loud to hear some of the dialogue, I swear some of the actors now whisper, and the action sequences are so loud, if I go outside for a cigarette and realize how loud it sounds,  I swear all our neighbors are at our mercy to our TV viewing since you can hear it throughout the area. I’m surprised they haven’t called the cops on us, either from the screaming, thinking my husband’s beating me, or from stupidity from listening to the TV so loudly. I wonder if the neighborhood could be taking up a joint collection of money for buying my husband & I hearing aids!

I know this may seem like a little thing, and perhaps a waste of our Legislation’s power, but just think, if they are busy doing something this inconsequential, perhaps they can’t get involved in matters they shouldn’t be?! Also, I really find this volume control an annoying issue and something beyond our control as citizens. Yes, we can use our remote control during EVERY commercial, but should we HAVE to? NO! I find us, in my house, muting the volume when trying to talk, in between shows, but should the advertisers have such power in MY home? I THINK NOT!~ So I for one am glad that the President and the Senate got involved in something that obviously was bothering enough of the citizenry that they felt moved to take action!

What do you think?!

(C) Written by Evelyn Garone 6/2011

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Customer Service, funny, Humor, interesting, Media, Men, News, Obama, politics, TV, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Excuse me, I can’t hear you, My TV’s ON!!

  1. SandySays1 says:

    Hmmmmm, From a canine point of view I think the legislation on commercials’ loudness should be extended to those nauseating political talk shows. They spend so much time screaming at each other it scares the cats fighting over garbage in the alleys. If they’re worried about the cost of electronically varying the volume, they can simply provide each talking head an old sock and give him or her instructions to shove it in their opponents mouth when it opens. That certainly would improve TV.
    Sandy
    http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

