NYC – Just Like I Pictured IT!

Wow. So, here I am in my old stomping grounds of NJ and NYC. I’m visiting my girlfriend of a good 15-20 years and we’re reminiscing and deciding what to do while we’re together when we’re not working at her store Antique Avenue on 25 Erie Avenue, Rutherford. A beautiful shop where you can find the different, old, antique and almost anything you could want.

She had a few other house guests’ visit from out-of-state and we all decided that a day in NYC would fit the bill for a group of shopping ladies to have a blast. OMG! How much fun . . . now I haven’t been to the city in so long, that now I regret the lapse.  When I lived in Rutherford I had a bus stop right at my corner and do you think I ever took advantage of it? Heck no! Why . .  . ? I guess I was just too busy with the day-to-day life as everyone is   . . . and it was always THERE so I could enjoy or partake of at anytime. . . isn’t that the way of it?

Don’t we all take for granted what we have until it’s gone? So when we got to the city it was just so invigorating and exciting. I loved it. So now, how about buying a town-house in the Village, I’m thinkin’? I mentioned it to my husband and he just laughed good-naturedly at me . . . was it with me or at me, I wonder?! Maybe we should forget buying the beach house in the Caribbean?! So fickle . . . Nah, I don’t think so. I guess you can’t compare the two, but if I won the lottery I’d have to get something in NYC now. I guess who wouldn’t, that’s why the price of Real Estate is through the roof?!

But the hustle and bustle of the City was just so magical, the way you can grab a slice of pizza on any street corner, keep walking and shop every block for anything you can imagine. It’s just so different and wonderful. Man, I felt alive . . .I wanted to walk and walk. I wanted to do everything, grab life by the two hands . . . I don’t even think words can do it justice to describe it, you have to BE THERE!  I haven’t been there in years, and I just felt so vibrant again. I just knew how to jay-walk again as if I was there yesterday. . .it’s an acquired NY skill, just dormant for me, since I used to live there.

We sat at an outside cafe, ate, drank and people watched. The weather was beyond amazing, it was in the 80’s with no humidity so you couldn’t ask for more! I found sterling silver earrings on the street for $10.00 that are real quality and heavy, too. We stopped at a Goodwill Store in The Village that had designer samples straight from the showrooms for $9.99. Amazing.

So, if you are ever in the area make sure you get to NYC!!! And if you live near there, make sure you visit and enjoy what’s right outside your backdoor before it’s gone . . .

(C) Written by Evelyn Garone 6/2011

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Adult Humor, Entertainment, Fashion, funny, Humor, interesting, new, Travel, Uncategorized, Vacation and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

