Please FEMA, Don’t help New Orleans AGAIN!!!

Call me facile, but is anyone else surprised that there is a new tropical storm bearing down on New Orleans? The timing may be a shame for all of it’s coincidence of the horrible Katrina, 6 years later but when you have an area like New Orleans, Louisiana unfortunately they are going to be hit by tropical storms like Lee.

My conundrum with this is hearing the News and the bearers of said bad news and disproportionate programming and reporting is why aren’t the areas more prepared after such a bad storm as Katrina 6 years later and BILLIONS of taxpayers dollars later?

I also wonder if I’m putting a simple take on it, if after the storm and the devastation in New Orleans, perhaps people knowing that the area will never be anything but a mess and an accident waiting to happen, perhaps it’s time to throw in the towel and move on? If your livelihood, neighborhood, house and everything else has been ruined time and again, perhaps it is time to pull up stakes and start anew in a different area?

Believe me, I’m not trying to sound cold-hearted, anything but. I’m trying to think of these people futures and save them from reoccurring heart break. The Army Corps. of Engineering has received at least $7 billion,  and I’ve seen figures as high as $8.3 billion $116 billion was said to have been used on Gulf Coast Recovery since 2005,  $7 billion  was said to have been spent on FEMA’s administrative costs so if all this money was added together and divided by the people and businesses affected, imagine how these people’s lives could have been changed for the better in a different place.

I understand, New Orleans has it’s own history and flavor, but perhaps there is a time to move on when there is no choice and no way to beat Mother Nature, The Mississippi, Lake Pontchartrain, The Water Table and the seasons including Hurricanes and tropical storms on this coast and the devastation it includes.

I hope this tropical storm bypasses New Orleans and the 500 year plan for the levees that the Army Corp. of Engineers are still working on. Maybe they’ll  be finished before the 500 years are up, perhaps faster than the Freedom Towers in New York will be. Whenever everybody has their hands out and their opinions in it takes longer than an act of God!

As far as I know, I don’t think anything but a lot of money has been spent in the Katrina-torn area, the levees are still worrying everybody. The Army-Corps. is planning, planning, planning. Like all good agencies do. As the people prepare for the season to worry. Some houses and businesses have been rebuilt. A lot of people  — 81,000 families– are still living in FEMA trailers. What a shame and a National embarrassment!

(C) Written by Evelyn Garone 9/3/2011

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in death, family, health, History, Insurance, interesting, Men, nature, new, News, Politically Correct, politics, TV, Uncategorized, Weather and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

