What’s In A Word?! #

I was just contemplating words and the usage of and wondering what peoples’ opinion is on cursing and/or the use of profanity? I’m not talking about cursing and swearing at people I’m talking about using swear words as expletives or as descriptive adjectives.

Here is the dictionary’s take on profanity. (Profanity is a show of disrespect, or a desecration or debasement of someone or something. Profanity can take the form of words, expressions, gestures, or other social behaviors that are socially constructed or interpreted as insultingrudevulgar, desecrating, or other forms.

Bla, Bla, Bla! This is what I’m talkin’ about! This is societies take on things! I’m just talking about the use of a few “colorful” adjectives!

I myself am quite fond of a few f-words, s-words  or other helpfully descriptive off color words at times. I feel they help my all ready colorful repertoire or amusing and anecdotal arsenal to be even a little more spicy. I do not even do it on purpose, it just unfolds naturally, and I do try to control it according to the subject matter and the audience. I know in my case it does not show ignorance or under-education, let people think what they may, they will as it is only human. Let the chips fall where they may, hopefully, my truth and intelligence with shine through!

I enjoy an occasional expletive. There I’ve said it!  (OK, I like to curse . . . sometimes it’s more than occasional, but it’s part of my personality, take me as I am!) Sometimes there is no word or sentiment that says it quite like a curse word. It is liberating, it gets the angst out, the frustration with the world and said situation and does it really hurt anybody? I don’t think so. I don’t think it should be considered unladylike, after all, isn’t that just being sexist?

(If you look it up: technically cursing is really ONLY when you literally PUT a curse on someone as the gentleman did to the Chicago Cubs all those years ago. . . that’s why they haven’t won since 1945!)

Now, I’m not saying the over usage, where every other word is the f-word, that’s just not nice and does sound ignorant. I don’t like that, but sometimes, nothing grabs a persons attention quite like a good son-of-a-bitch or God Damn when the situation warrants it, right?

Who has decided the use of profanity is wrong, except society? Why? Does it bother some people’s delicate sensibilities? There is a time and a place for everything and if used in my home or where I deem appropriate, not at the Day Care center, not at church, why is it wrong if I’m not hurting anybody?

So, what do you think, I’d like to know?

(C) Written by Evelyn Garone 9/2011

About Evie Garone

I am an outspoken woman with independent views of the world. I am spiritual but also realistic. I've successfully raised two men who I've sent off to college and am now following my love of the arts, including painting, drawing and writing. Thus, two blogs, two books I sporadically work on, voracious reading, among other loves keep me busy.
This entry was posted in Adult Humor, Blogging, Entertainment, esoteric, Etiquette, funny, Humor, interesting, Media, new, Politically Correct, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What’s In A Word?! #

  1. mike says:

    Fuck yes!

    Like

  2. dieta says:

    . Sometimes when you really need that wallop you want to .get out the word.

    Like

Leave a Reply

